EAC Logo


Instruments Policy Priority Area 6:  Providing quality education, health and social protection to children

Objective: To encourage ministries to integrate programmes with other agencies and stakeholders

6.1. Develop and implement minimum regional standards for children in Education, Health and Social Protection

  • Harmonise National Plans of action with the Minimum Standards

  • Mapping of groups of children who are not able to access services or facing specific obstacles in doing so.

  • Develop EAC Regional Minimum Package of Services for vulnerable children and youth

  • Standardise the training curriculum for the Social Workforce in the EAC

  • Map the status of implementation of Article 24 of CRC (right of access to highest standard of health care services possible) among partner states.

  • Map the status of implementation of Article 28 of CRC (right of the child to education)

6.2. Improve access to and utilisation of quality health care services, education, social protection and other social services

  • Define and adopt quality education and healthcare standards for vulnerable children in EAC.

  • Conduct a study on social protection mechanisms in Partner States to inform the harmonisation and development of a regional framework.

  • Develop regional guidelines for designing and implementation of social protection in the region targeting all children.

6.3 Strengthen the integrated/Inclusive management of health, education and social protection services

Develop and implement a framework for the establishment of integrated Basic Social Services Networks for Child Survival and Development

ProgressProgress in the implementation of Priority Area Six:

The EAC has adopted the Minimum Standards for Comprehensive Services for Children and Young People in the East African Community. The Minimum Standards target all young people below the age of 24 years with a recognition that most times 18-24-year olds fall through the cracks if they have not been adequately supported throughout the various stages of childhood. The guiding principles of the Minimum Standards stress the importance of ensuring that services especially in Education, Health and Social Protection are accessible and appropriate for the wellbeing of all young people. The Minimum Standards use psychosocial wellbeing as the entry point to provide clarity and guidance as to what services are needed and at what levels, to ensure the holistic needs of children and young people are met. The With support from RIATT-ESA, the Minimum Standards have been published and disseminated in various fora and learning workshops.


East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org