EAC Logo


About EAC

overview of eac cta

Overview of EAC

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation founded in 1999. The work of the EAC is guided by its Treaty (2000) which established the Community.

Continue reading


eac partner states cta

EAC Partner States

The EAC is currently made up of eight Partner States: the Democratic Republic of Congo, the Republics of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Somalia, South Sudan, Uganda, and Tanzania. Admission to the Community is guided by criteria spelt out in Article 3 of the EAC Treaty.

Continue reading


eac organs cta

EAC Organs

The EAC organs are the Summit, the Council of Ministers, the Co-ordinating Committee, the Sectoral Committees, the East African Court of Justice, the East African Legislative Assembly and the Secretariat.

Continue reading


the secretariat cta

The Secretariat

The Secretariat is one of the main organs of the East African Community. The Secretariat is the executive Organ of the Community and is based in Arusha, Tanzania.                                                                  

Continue reading



eac institutions cta

EAC Institutions

The EAC also has nine (9) institutions, three of which became operational in July 2015. All have their own leadership and their budgets are drawn from the consolidated, annual EAC budget

Continue reading


leadership team cta

Leadership Team

At the head of the EAC is the Summit. The Secretary-General is appointed by the Summit upon nomination by the relevant Head of State under the principle of rotation, and serves for 5 years.

Continue reading



East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org