EAC Logo


Overview of EAC

EAC map 8 PS 2

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of eight (8) Partner States: The Republic of Burundi, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, the Republic of Kenya, the Republic of Rwanda, the Federal Republic of Somalia, the Republic of South Sudan, the Republic of Uganda, and the United Republic of Tanzania, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The EAC Summit of Heads of State admitted the Federal Republic of Somalia into the East African Community on 24th November, 2023. Subsequently, the Federal Republic of Somalia signed the Treaty of Accession to the EAC Treaty on 15th December, 2023. The Federal Republic of Somalia become a full member upon depositing her instrument of ratification of the EAC Treaty with the EAC Secretary General on 4th March, 2024.

The EAC is home to an estimated 302.2 million citizens, of which over 30% is urban population. With a land area of 5.4 million square kilometres and a combined Gross Domestic Product of US$ 312.9 billion, its realisation bears great strategic and geopolitical significance and prospects for the renewed and reinvigorated EAC.

The work of the EAC is guided by its Treaty which established the Community. It was signed on 30 November, 1999 and entered into force on 7 July, 2000 following its ratification by the original three Partner States - Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda. The Republic of Rwanda and the Republic of Burundi acceded to the EAC Treaty on 18 June, 2007 and became full Members of the Community with effect from 1 July, 2007. The Republic of South Sudan acceded to the Treaty on 15 April, 2016 and become a full Member on 15 August, 2016, while the Democratic Republic of the Congo acceded to the EAC Treaty on 8 April, 2022 and became a full member on 11 July, 2022. The Federal Republic of Somalia acceded to the EAC Treaty on 15 December, 2023, and bacame a full member on 4 March, 2024. 

As one of the fastest growing regional economic blocs in the world, the EAC is widening and deepening co-operation among the Partner States in various key spheres for their mutual benefit. These spheres include political, economic and social.

At the moment, the regional integration process is in full swing as reflected by the encouraging progress of the East African Customs Union, the establishment of the Common Market in 2010 and the implementation of the East African Monetary Union Protocol.

Current status

The process towards an East African Federation is being fast tracked, underscoring the serious determination of the East African leadership and citizens to construct a powerful and sustainable East African economic and political bloc. In May 2017, the EAC Heads of State adopted the Political Confederation as a transitional model of the East African Political Federation.

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org