EAC Logo
  • What Regional Integration means to YOU

    What Regional Integration means to YOU

    Common Custom Tarriff Regimes and Procedures mean easier Access to intra-African and Global markets

  • What Regional Integration means to YOU

    What Regional Integration means to YOU

    Better Infrastructure means better Access to Markets

  • What Regional Integration means to YOU

    What Regional Integration means to YOU

    Increased Trade Opportunities means improved Livelihoods

Screen Shot 2018 05 29 at 09.33.45

customs union cta

Customs Union

Through the Customs Union Protocol, trade within the EAC region has been enhanced significantly. Additionally, EAC has been an attractive foreign direct investment hub.

Continue reading
common market cta

Common Market

EAC guides the free movement of goods, people, labour, services and capital from one Partner State to another as well as the rights of establishment and residence without restrictions.

Continue reading
monetary union cta

Monetary Union

The East African Monetary Union Protocol provides for the attainment of a single currency for daily transactions within the Common Market.

Continue reading
political federation cta


The EAC Partner States envisage coming together to form a super-state under a single political authority / government.

Continue reading

Latest Documents

  • Screen Shot 2018-09-04 at 124249 EAC Annual Report | 2014-2015
    EAC Annual Report | 2014-2015

    EAC Annual Report | 2014-2015

    Category: Key Documents, Annual Report
    Type: Annual Report
    Tag: Customs Union, Common Market , Political Federation, Monetary Union

  • CP - Activities Sep-Dec 2018 EAC Calendar of Activities: September - December 2018
    EAC Calendar of Activities: September - December 2018

    EAC Calendar of Activities: September - December 2018

    Category: General Documents
    Type: Calendar of Activities

  • Screen Shot 2018-08-31 at 110357 EAC e-Newsletter | 31 August 2018
    EAC e-Newsletter | 31 August 2018

    EAC e-Newsletter | Issue 121 | 31 August 2018

    Category: Newsletter
    Type: Newsletter

  • Screen Shot 2018-09-18 at 161123 EAC Gazette | 17 September 2018
    EAC Gazette | 17 September 2018

    EAC Gazette | Vol. AT 1 – No. 12 | 17 September 2018

    Category: Gazette
    Type: Gazette
    Tag: Customs Union

  • Screen Shot 2018-08-27 at 095548 Supply, Delivery & Installation of Training and Capacity Building Equipment for Tanzania under LVWATSAN II
    Supply, Delivery & Installation of Training and Capacity Building Equipment for Tanzania under LVWATSAN II

    Bidding Document

    Category: EAC Procurement Opportunities
    Type: Tender
    Tag: LVBC

EAC at A Glance

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of six (6) Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The EAC is structured into seven main Organs:

The Community also has eight institutions, three of which became operational in July 2015.

Continue reading

Timeline of East African Regional Integration

  • 1897 - 1901
    Railway lines across Kenya, Uganda and Tanganyika open up the region for colonial development under the management of the East African Railways Cooperation.
  • 1900 - 1917
    Customs for goods destined for Uganda are collected at Mombasa port, and a full Customs Union comprising Kenya, Uganda and, later, Tanganyika is established in 1917.
  • 1905 - 1940
    The East African Currency Board, the Postal Union, the Court of Appeal for Eastern Africa, the East African Governors’ Conference, the East African Income Tax Board and the Joint Economic Council are established.
  • 1946
    The East African Airways Corporation is incorporated. It covered not only the East African region, but operated across Africa, connecting also to Europe and India.
  • 1948 - 1961
    The East African High Commission (EACH) is the coordinating body to deal with a customs union, a common external tariff, currency and post- age; and also with common services in transport and communications, research and education.
  • 1961
    Following independence, the East African High Commission is replaced by the East African Common Services Organisation (EACSO), which many observers thought would lead to a political federation between the three territories. However, the new organisation suffered from a lack of joint planning and fiscal policy, separate political policies and Kenya’s dominant economic position.
  • 1967
    Signing of the ‘Treaty for East African Cooperation’ among Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania.
  • Dissolution of the first East African Community.
  • 1999
    The Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community was signed by the three Presidents of the Republic of Kenya, Republic of Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania on 30th November, 1999. 30th November is recognized as EAC Day across the region.
  • 2005
    The Protocol for the establishment of the EAC Customs Union was signed on 1st July, 2005.
  • 2007
    The Republic of Rwanda and the Republic of Burundi were admitted and became full members of EAC on 1st July, 2007.
  • 2010
    The EAC Common Market Protocol entered into force on 1st July, 2010, an expansion of the bloc’s existing Customs Union.
  • 2013
    The East African Monetary Union (EAMU) is the third milestone of the EAC integration process. The EAMU Protocol was signed on 30th November, 2013 and set the groundwork for a monetary union within 10 years while allowing the EAC Partner States to progressively converge their currencies into a single currency in the Community.
  • 2016
    The Republic of South Sudan was admitted and became a full member of EAC on 5th September, 2016.
  • 2017
    On 20th May, 2017, the EAC Heads of State adopted the Political Confederation as a transitional model of the East African Political Federation.

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org