EAC Logo


Financial Sector

Each EAC Partner State currently has its own financial sector, consisting of a Central Bank, commercial banks, non-bank financial institutions, mortgage companies, insurance companies, development finance institutions, microfinance institutions, Savings and Credit Cooperative Organizations (SACCOs), social security funds, building societies, and foreign exchange bureaus among others.

The central banks in each of the countries regulate and supervise the financial sector.

Several commercial banks are operating as regional commercial banks and have branches across EAC Partner States.

Sources of investment finance other than domestic banks include the East African Development Bank (EADB), the Trade and Development Bank (TDB), the African Development Bank (AfDB), the European Investment Bank (EIB), World Bank (WB), Exim Bank of China, among other international banking institutions and individual foreign national development banks.

Each of the EAC Partner States with exception of South Sudan has an active Capital Markets Authority (CMA), that regulates and supervises the capital markets in that particular Partner State. There are calls to put in place the EAC Capital Markets Authority as part of the efforts to integrate the EAC Capital Markets.

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org