EAC20Plus logo

About Editorial Board | Contact

 Volume 1 | Issue 1



Introduction to the First Issue of East Africa Science: Search, Discover, Develop
Fabian M. Mashauri, Harriet Nabudere


United Kingdom–East and Southern Africa Partnership at the Forefront of Developing the First Ever Test that Measures Patient Tuberculosis Burden in Hours
Wilber Sabiiti on behalf of the MBLA development stakeholders


Mobile Health in Uganda: A Case Study of the Medical Concierge Group
Louis H. Kamulegeya, Joseph Ssebwana, Wilson Abigaba, John M. Bwanika, Davis Musinguzi

Prevalence and Distribution of Multidrug-Resistant Mutations in Mycobacterium tuberculosis in Tanzania
John C. Mgogwe, Hadija H. Semvua, Oliva Safari, Gibson E. Kapanda, Balthazar M. Nyombi, Jaffu O. Chilongola

Prevalence and Genetic Diversity of Hepatitis B and C Viruses Among Couples Attending Antenatal Care in a Rural Community in Rwanda
Onesphore Majyambere, Andrew K. Nyerere, Louis S. Nkaka, Nadine Rujeni, Raphael L. Wekessa

Prevalence of Wuchereria bancrofti Infection in Mosquitoes from Pangani District, Northeastern Tanzania
Godlisten S. Materu

Biological Activity of Sumilarv 0.5G against Anopheles gambiae sensu stricto and Anopheles arabiensis in Northern Tanzania
Eliningaya J. Kweka, Aneth M. Mahande, Shandala Msangi, Subira Sayumwe, Johnson O. Ouma, Violet Temba, Lucile J. Lyaruu, Yousif E. Himeidan

Determination and Quantification of Gallic Acid in Raw Propolis by High- performance Liquid Chromatography–Diode Array Detector in Burundi
Ramadhan Nyandwi, Ayşe S. Kılıç, Meltem Çelik, Hasan H. Oruç


Congenital Zika Virus Infection Paradigm: What is in the Wardrobe? A Narrative Review
Mariam M. Mirambo, Lucas Matemba, Mtebe Majigo, Stephen E. Mshana



East Africa Science (EASci) is a no-fee, open-access, peer-reviewed journal published online at www.eahealth.org. It is published two times per year by the East African Health Research Commission. EAHRC, which is based in Bujumbura, Burundi is an institution of the East African Community (EAC). EAC is an East African Regional Economic Community with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. EASci is editorially independent and does not necessarily represent the views or positions of the East African Community.

East Africa Science is distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original author and source are properly cited. To view a copy of this license, visit: http://creativecommons.org/ licenses/by/4.0/. For further information, please contact the editors at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Gibson Kibiki, MD, MMed, PhD, Executive Secretary, East African Health Research Commission, Burundi


Jacqueline Aber, MSc, Mbarara University, Uganda

Happiness H. Kumburu, PhD, Kilimanjaro Clinical Research Institute, Tanzania

Geoffrey Mutisya Maitha, MSc, AIDS Healthcare Foundation, Kenya

Lina Sara Mathew, MSc, Baharel Ghazal University, South Sudan

Irene Mremi, MSc, Sokoine University of Agriculture, Tanzania

Ella Larrissa Ndoricyimpaye, MSc, University of Rwanda, Rwanda

Sandra Nkurunziza, MD, MPH, University of Burundi, Burundi

Ramadhani Nyandwi, MSc, University of Burundi, Burundi

Violet Asiko Ongaya, MSc, Kenya Medical Research Institute, Kenya

Naasson Tuyiringire, MSc, Rwanda Biomedical Centre, Rwanda


Harriet Nabudere, MBChB, MPH, Uganda National Health Research Organisation, Uganda


Prof Bennon Asiimwe, PhD, Mbarara University, Uganda

Dr Quirijn de Mast, MD, PhD, Radboud University Medical Center, The Netherlands

Prof Stephen Gillespie, MD, FRCP, University of St Andrews, UK

Prof Ben Hamel, MD, PhD, Radboud University Medical Center, The Netherlands

Prof Scott Heysell, MD, University of Virginia, USA

Prof Eric Houpt, MD, University of Virginia, USA

Prof Sam Kariuki, PhD, Kenya Medical Research Institute, Kenya

Prof Pierre Claver Kayumba, PhD, University of Rwanda, Rwanda

Dr John Kiiru, PhD, Kenya Medical Research Institute, Kenya

Prof Ole Lund, PhD, Technical University, Denmark

Dr Stephen Magesa, PhD, President’s Malaria Initiatives, Tanzania

Dr Alphaxard Manjurano, PhD, National Institute for Medical Research, Tanzania

Dr Stella Mpagama, MD, PhD, Kibong’oto Infectious Diseases Hospital, Tanzania

Prof Leon Mutesa, MD, PhD, University of Rwanda, Rwanda

Dr Jean de Dieu Ngirabega, MD, PhD, East African Health Research Commission, Burundi

Prof Joseph Nyandwi, MD, PhD, University of Burundi, Burundi

Prof Stephen Rulisa, MD, PhD, University of Rwanda, Rwanda

Dr Wilber Sabiiti, PhD, University of St Andrews, Scotland

Prof Thor Theander, MD, DSc, University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Prof David P Towers, PhD, University of Warwick, UK

Prof Andre van der Ven, MD, PhD, Radboud University Medical Centre, The Netherlands

Prof Mirjam van Reisen, PhD, Leiden University, The Netherlands

Prof Alimuddun Zumla, MD, FRCP, University College London, UK


For further information, please contact the editors at: eahrc-admin[at]eahealth.org


   EAHRC logo        eac logo copy 1


East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org