EAC Logo


Republic of Rwanda

Rwanda joined the East African Community in July 2007.

In 2008, the Government of Rwanda decided to change the medium of education from French to English.

In September 2008, Rwanda became the first nation in the world to elect a majority of women MPs: 45 of the 80 members of the Chamber of Deputies. The number increased to 51 women deputies in the September 2013 election.

The Country hosts the East African Science and Technology Commission (EASTC), an institution of the Community with the objective of promoting and coordinating of the development, management and application of science and technology in the Partner States.

Key facts

Joined EAC: July 2007

Population: 12.1 million  (2019 Statistics)

GDP: US$ 9.51 Billion (2019 Statistics)

Official language: Kinyarwanda, English, French

Timezone: GMT + 2hr

Currency: Rwandan Franc (Rwfr)


Area: 26,338 sq. km

Coastline: none

Capital city: Kigali

Population density (per sq. km): 434

The Republic of Rwanda is a landlocked country with land borders with four countries: Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Burundi and Democratic Republic of Congo (clockwise from the north). Water covers 1,390 sq. km of the country; the largest lakes include Bulera, Ihema, Kivu (straddling the border with the Democratic Republic of Congo), Mugesera and Muhazi, and there are many rivers.


Kinyarwanda, English and French are the official languages, and Kiswahili is widely spoken.


Country code 250 (no area codes); internet domain ‘.rw’.

Public holidays

New Year’s Day, Heroes’ Day (1 February), Tutsi Genocide Memorial Day (7 April), Labour Day (1 May), Independence Day (1 July), Liberation Day (4 July), Assumption (15 August), Christmas Day and Boxing Day.

Religious festivals whose dates vary from year to year include Good Friday and Eid al-Fitr (End of Ramadan, two days).


There are 14,000 km of roads, 19% paved.

There is no railway.

The main international airport is Kigali International Airport in Kigali.

International relations

Rwanda is a member of the African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States, African Union, Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa, The Commonwealth, Non-Aligned Movement, Organisation internationale de la Francophonie, United Nations and World Trade Organization.


The terrain is rugged with steep hills and deep valleys, rising in the north to the highest peak, Karisimbi (4,519 metres), which lies in a range of volcanoes. The country is popularly known as the ‘land of a thousand hills’.


Though the country is close to the Equator, the climate is tempered by altitude; it is hot and humid in the valleys, and drier and cooler in the higher elevations. The rainy seasons are March-May and October-November; the hottest season being August-September.


The most significant environmental issues are drought, limiting the potential for agriculture; overgrazing; soil erosion and degradation; and deforestation due to almost universal use of wood as a fuel.


Thick equatorial rainforest is found in the north and west of the country - forest covering some 18% of the total land area - and savannah in the east. Forest cover has increased at 1.6% p.a. 1990-2010. Arable land comprises 49% and permanent cropland 10% of the total land area.


National parks and game reserves cover some 8% of the country and include the Volcanoes National Park (famous for its mountain gorillas) and Akagera National Park (elephants, buffaloes, giraffes and zebras).

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org