EAC Logo


COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Free Trade Area (TFTA) Agreement

Consisting of 26 member countries, the COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite is accelerating economic integration for the people of the Eastern and Southern African Region.

The Tripartite is an umbrella organisation consisting of 3 of Africaโ€™s Regional Economic Communities, namely: the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa; the East Africa Community and the Southern African Development Community. The Tripartite consists of 26 member countries.

Key Provisions of the Agreement:

The supreme objective of the Tripartite is to contribute to the broader objectives of the African Union that is accelerating economic integration of the continent and achieving sustainable economic development leading to poverty alleviation and improvement in quality of life for the people of the Eastern and Southern African Region. 

Current Status:

  • Ratified by Republic of Burundi,Republic of Kenya, Republic of Rwanda and Republic of Uganda.

  • Signed by Democratic Republic of Congo and the United Republic of Tanzania, ratification is pending.

  • Not yet signed by the Republic of South Sudan.

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org