EAC Logo


EAC Secretariat set to conduct High-Level Border Sensitization Mission

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 3rd April, 2024:The East African Community (EAC) Secretariat is set to conduct a high-level sensitization mission at selected borders within the region aimed at reviewing the performance of the various One-Stop Border Posts (OSBPs).

Scheduled to commence on 9th April, 2024, the mission underscores the EAC's commitment to fostering cooperation, enhancing trade facilitation, and improving cross-border procedures.

The primary objective of the mission is to follow up on the performance of OSBPs, identify areas for improvement, and assess the implementation of agreed action plans. Through engagement with various stakeholders including Officers in Charge of the OSBPs; customs, immigration, standards, and port health officers; as well as representatives of other border agencies, cross-border traders, and local government authorities, the EAC Secretariat aims to address challenges and streamline processes at these critical facilities.

Selected borders and mission dates are as follows:

  1. Nimule/Elegu, South Sudan side – 9th April, 2024
  2. Mutukula/Mutukula, Uganda side – 12th April, 2024
  3. Rusumo/Rusumo, Rwanda side – 15th April, 2024
  4. Kobero/Kabanga, Burundi side – 16th April, 2024
  5. Namanga/Namanga, Tanzania – 19th April, 2024

The mission will take place at the respective OSBPs ensuring comprehensive coverage and engagement.

The EAC Secretariat underscores the significance of continuous sensitization and capacity-building efforts at EAC borders. Similar missions are planned for other OSBPs in the months of June and July 2024, reaffirming the commitment to enhancing awareness and compliance with cross-border procedures.

For more information, please contact:

Simon Peter Owaka
Senior Public Relations OfficerCorporate Communications and Public Affairs DepartmentEAC SecretariatArusha, TanzaniaTel: +255 768 552087Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of eight (8) Partner States, comprising the Republic of Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, the Republic of Kenya, the Republic of Rwanda, the Federal Republic of Somalia, the Republic of South Sudan, the Republic of Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. The Federal Republic of Somalia was admitted into the EAC bloc by the Summit of EAC Heads of State on 24th November, 2023 and became a full member on 4th March, 2024.

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org