EAC Logo


The East African Community Competition Authority and Rwanda Inspectorate, Competition and Consumer Protection Authority sign Bilateral Agreement

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 15th February, 2024: The East African Community Competition Authority (the EACCA) has signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with Rwanda’s Inspectorate, Competition and Consumer Protection Agency (RICA) to strengthen cooperation between the two authorities in the advancement of competition policy and law in the East African Community. The signing took place on the sidelines of the EAC Stakeholder Merger Workshop held in Kigali on 12-13 February, 2024.

The MoU will ensure that implementation of EACCA and RICA mandates and activities will foster joint efforts in addressing competition and consumer protection matters while enhancing regional integration and cross-border trade.

The MoU sets out modalities for a wide range of collaborative initiatives through which the two institutions will cooperate and coordinate their activities in regard to cross-border competition and consumer protection matters in the region.

Making her remarks during the signing ceremony, Ms. Lilian Mukoronia, the Registrar of the East African Competition Authority noted that the development of the cooperation framework has been a journey and expressed her gratitude to RICA for the effort and cooperation made towards this achievement.

Group photo opportunity:  EACCA and RICA staff

She noted that such cooperation frameworks enable information sharing with Partner States in handling competition enforcement and advocacy issues while working together to create efficient markets in the Community.

Ms Mukoronia expressed her commitment to the partnership in addressing common competition challenges and implementing the EAC strategy of developing a vibrant competitive Common Market that works for all citizens of East Africa.

 “It is important to foster a regulatory environment that supports fair competition, innovation and the protection of consumer rights in the community”,

On her part,  Ms. Beatrice Uwumukiza the Director General of RICA underscored RICA’s commitment to closely work with EACCA to keep developing capacity in competition and consumer protection matters, “This cooperation framework provides a structured approach to collaboration in addressing challenges of the globalized market place and cross border issues that often require concerted efforts”,

She affirmed RICA’s determination to work hand in hand with the EACCA to bring to life the cooperation initiatives outlined in the MoU.

For more information, please contact:

Simon Peter Owaka
Senior Public Relations OfficerCorporate Communications and Public Affairs DepartmentEAC SecretariatArusha, TanzaniaTel: +255 768 552087Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of seven (7) Partner States, comprising the Republic of Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, the Republic of Kenya, the Republic of Rwanda, the Republic of South Sudan, the Republic of Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. The Federal Republic of Somalia is in the process of becoming a full member of the Community after its admission into the EAC bloc by the Summit of EAC Heads of State on 24th November, 2023.

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001: 2015 Certified

Tags: East African Competition Authority (EACA)

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org  |  sgoffice@eachq.org