EAC Logo


43rd Meeting of the Sectoral Council on Trade, Industry, Finance and Investment underway in Arusha, Tanzania

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania: 5th February, 2024: The 43rd Meeting of the Sectoral Council of Ministers on Trade, Industry, Finance and Investment (SCTIFI) is currently underway at the EAC Headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The five-day SCTIFI meeting started with the Session of Senior Officials that runs from Monday, 5th to 7th February, 2024. The Session of the Coordination Committee that brings together Permanent/Principal/Under Secretaries is slated Thursday, 8th February, 2024 while the Cabinet Secretaries/Ministersโ€™ session will be held on Friday, 9th February, 2024.

EAC Deputy Secretary General in charge of Customs, Trade and Monetary Affairs, Ms. Annette Ssemuwemba makes her remarks during the meeting

Among the items on the agenda of the SCTIFI are the considerations of the: Report of Sectoral Committee on Customs; Report of the Sectoral Committee on Trade and the consideration of a Paper on the Prioritisation of EAC Free Trade Negotiations with Selected Third Parties.

Other items on the agenda of the meeting are the Report of the East African Standards Committee; Report of the Sectoral Committee on Investment, and; Report on Competition Matters.

For more information, please contact:

Simon Peter Owaka
Senior Public Relations OfficerCorporate Communications and Public Affairs DepartmentEAC SecretariatArusha, TanzaniaTel: +255 768 552087Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of seven (7) Partner States, comprising the Republic of Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, the Republic of Kenya, the Republic of Rwanda, the Republic of South Sudan, the Republic of Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. The Federal Republic of Somalia is in the process of becoming a full member of the Community after its admission into the EAC bloc by the Summit of EAC Heads of State on 24th November, 2023.

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001: 2015 Certified

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org