EAC Logo


EAC and EU set to align development priorities for 2021 - 2027

East African Community Secretariat, Arusha, Tanzania, 27th April, 2021: The EAC Secretary General, Hon. Dr. Peter Mathuki, has today undertaken his first assignment as the 6th Secretary General of the EAC in a virtual meeting with the European Union Commission. 

The meeting provided the platform to review what is envisaged in the EU Multiannual Indicative Programme (MIP) for Sub-Saharan Africa 2021-27, taking into account lessons learnt from ongoing actions as well as the current priorities of the EU Commission and Regional Economic Communities in Sub-Saharan Africa.  

Speaking during the meeting, Dr. Mathuki, reaffirmed the EAC’s commitment to the partnership with the European Union, and expressed his anticipation to establishing the areas of cooperation between the two blocs for the next six years. 

“The consolidation of the Customs Union and advancing the implementation of the Common Market Protocol call for urgent attention to further propel the EAC integration agenda,” said Dr. Mathuki. 

The Secretary General further noted the need to address the adverse impacts of the Covid-19 pandemic in the region. “I look forward to cooperation with the EU in further enhancing the region’s response to Covid-19 and economic recovery, as well as the implementation of the EAC’s 6th Development Strategy priorities,” he added. 

Speaking on behalf of the EU, Mr. Hans Stausboll, Head of Unit, Regional and Multi-Country Programmes for Africa, congratulated Dr. Peter Mathuki for his appointment as the new Secretary General of the East African Community.  

“I take this opportunity to thank Dr. Peter Mathuki for finding the time to join us for this meeting, today being his first day in office as the Secretary General of the EAC,” added Mr. Stausboll. 

The programme will provide support through actions at national, multi-country, sub-regional, cross-regional and continental level in Sub-Saharan Africa on the basis of three main principles: policy first, geographisation and subsidiarity. It is expected that only initiatives with a clear added value to address an issue from a regional perspective will be supported under the regional programme.  

Priority areas for cooperation include; Human Development; Governance, Peace and Security, Culture; Green and Climate Transition; Digital and Science, Technology and Innovation; Sustainable Growth and Decent Jobs; and Migration and Forced Displacement.

For more information, please contact:

Simon Peter Owaka
Senior Public Relations Officer
Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 768 552087
Email: sowaka [at] eachq.org

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of six Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001: 2015 Certified

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org