EAC Logo

Ambassador Wang Ke from the People’s Republic of China and EAC Secretary General, Amb Liberat Mfumukeko pose for a photo after signing a Financial Agreement

China Accredits Envoy to EAC Bloc

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, 18th November, 2017:

The People’s Republic of China has appointed Wang Ke, its current Ambassador to Tanzania, as a representative to the East African Community (EAC). Her Excellency Wang Ke  presented accreditation letter to the Secretary General of the East African Community, Amb. Liberat Mfumukeko on 17th November, 2017, at the EAC headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania

Speaking at the event, the Chinese envoy described the accreditation as an honour, commending the close and cordial relations between her country and the EAC.

H.E Ke noted the region’s positive economic development due to political stability and reiterated his country’s commitment to enhance further collaboration with the bloc.

On his part the Secretary General of the East African Community, Amb. Liberat Mfumukeko noted that China had continued to be a good partner of the region and EAC appreciates its contribution towards building the Community in various fields including infrastructure development.    

The Secretary General underscored the importance of the accreditation which means more engagement of co-operation between the EAC and the People’s Republic of China for the development of the region.

Amb Mfumukeko briefed Chinese Envoy on the progresses being registered by the Community so far that include implementation of Protocols on the Customs Union, Common Market and East African Monetary Union.

Meanwhile, the East African Community and the Republic of China signed a Financing Agreement of USD 200,000 for integration agenda. The EAC Secretary General, Amb. Liberat Mfumukeko signed on behalf of the Community while H.E Wang Ke,  signed on behalf of People’s Republic of China.


For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at] eachq.org

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of five Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. 

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 2008:9001 Certified

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org  |  sgoffice@eachq.org