EAC Logo

Turkey´s High Commissioner to Tanzania, H.E Dr. Mehment Gulluoglu presents his credentials to EAC Secretary General Dr. Peter Mathuki

Turkey's Ambassador to Tanzania presents credentials to EAC Secretary General

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 13th October, 2021: Turkey´s High Commissioner to Tanzania, H.E Dr. Mehment Gulluoglu, has been accredited as the country´s representative to the East African Community.

Dr. Gulluoglu presented his letter of credence to the EAC Secretary General, Hon. (Dr.) Peter Mathuki at the EAC Headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

Amb. Gulluoglu The Ambassador noted that EAC had made significant achievements in promoting Intra-EAC trade and infrastructure development, adding that Turkey keen on providing support to drive the integration process.

“EAC needs to involve more stakeholders such as the youth and private sector in strengthening regional integration efforts. We invite the EAC business community to make a benchmarking visit to Turkey to network, sample the latest technologies, and exchange ideas,” said the Turkish envoy.

On his part, EAC Secretary General Dr. Mathuki updated the Turkish Ambassador on the just concluded 1st EAC Regional Tourism EXPO that was held in Arusha and implored him to rally tourism sector players in Turkey to participate in the next EXPO slated for another Partner State next year.

Dr. Mathuki also briefed the envoy on the measures the region has been taking to strengthen intra-EAC trade.

“We now have in place a Technical Working Group, which is responsible for following up on challenges disrupting intra-EAC trade. They compile issues raised by businesses and support them in their resolution by working with the relevant institutions and stakeholders,” he said, adding that the resolution of trade barriers will create a conducive business environment to attract investors.

For more information, please contact:

Simon Peter Owaka
Senior Public Relations Officer
Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 768 552087
Email: sowaka [at] eachq.org

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of six Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001: 2015 Certified

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org  |  sgoffice@eachq.org