EAC Logo


India commits to supporting EAC in education and skills development

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 13th October,2021: The East African Community Secretary General, Hon. (Dr.) Peter Mathuki on Tuesday received credentials from India’s High Commissioner to Tanzania and the EAC, His Excellency (H.E.) Binaya Pradhan, at the EAC Headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

Dr. Mathuki commended the Republic of India for being a strategic partner for EAC and called for more synergy to strengthen the bloc.

“Strong partnerships and collaboration in strategic areas of interest will serve as a catalyst for regional integration,” he said.

H.E. Pradhan disclosed that India was committed to supporting education by providing various scholarship opportunities for short-term and long-term studies.

“Education cooperation with the EAC is one of our areas of interest. India is keen on supporting skills development in the EAC by providing scholarships for higher education as well as professional courses,” he said.

The High Commissioner also said that India was keen on supporting businesses in the bloc to conduct benchmarking visits to New Delhi, India, to learn and exchange on areas of collaboration.

“The trip is set to offer an opportunity for Business-to-Business (B2B) meetings, exhibition of the latest technologies and exchange of business ideas,” added the envoy.

The High Commissioner and the Secretary General also deliberated on other areas of cooperation in areas such as agriculture in a move set to increase economic growth.

Dr. Mathuki called for the Asian country’s participation in more regional events, sharing an update on the just concluded 1st EAC Regional Tourism EXPO that was held in Arusha.

For more information, please contact:

Simon Peter Owaka
Senior Public Relations Officer
Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 768 552087
Email: sowaka [at] eachq.org

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of six Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001: 2015 Certified

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org  |  sgoffice@eachq.org