EAC Logo


Kenya High Commissioner to Tanzania pays courtesy call on EAC Secretary General

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 2nd June, 2021: The Kenya High Commissioner to Tanzania, H.E. Hon. Dan Kazungu, today paid a courtesy call on the Secretary General of the East African Community, Hon. (Dr.) Peter Mathuki in his office at the EAC Headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The two officials discussed a wide range of issues centred on the EAC regional integration agenda.

The Secretary General reiterated the vital role of the High Commissioners in the Partner States in ensuring the EAC integration agenda is executed smoothly. “I look forward to working closely with the East African High Commissioners in the region to ensure that we are able to swiftly address any matter that requires intervention”, added Dr Mathuki.

On his part, the High Commissioner noted that the Republic of Kenya and the United Republic of Tanzania have renewed their passion for the integration agenda, and have resolved various trade differences. “We can now confidently say that trade matters between Kenya and Tanzania have been resolved, and we are back on track,” added Ambassador Kazungu.

Amb. Kazungu further noted that the two countries were in the processes of aligning various policies that are set to better facilitate integration with particular reference to Education, Science and Technology; Foreign Affairs; Health; Border Management; as well as and people-to-people relations including the Private Sector, Arts, Culture, Wildlife matters and Tourism.

“We are also excited that preparations are underway for a meeting of the Joint Commission for Cooperation (JCC) in the coming months, to address matters of trade and investment between Kenya and Tanzania,” remarked the Kenyan envoy.

In early May this year, the Heads of the two States directed regular meetings of the JCC in an effort to ensure the continued strengthening of relations between the two EAC Partner States. The Heads of State tasked the JCC to address matters affecting the people of Kenya and Tanzania as they do business and interact with each other.

Amb. Kazungu further called upon the Secretary General to ensure the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) is admitted to the EAC at the soonest possible, for the greater good of the Community. “With DRC as a member of the Community, we will have connected the Atlantic Ocean to the Indian Ocean, and with that the EAC will move beyond imagination,” he added.

In response, Dr. Mathuki informed the envoy that an EAC team with experts from the Partner States has been constituted and is set to embark on a verification mission to the DRC this month. “It is our hope that we shall very soon submit a report of the verification mission to the Summit for consideration by our Heads of State,” added the Secretary General. 

For more information, please contact:

Simon Peter Owaka
Senior Public Relations Officer
Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 768 552087
Email: sowaka [at] eachq.org

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of six Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001: 2015 Certified

The EACREW will also include school competitions, sports and traditional events organised by the local communities. 

The EACREW will be facilitated by the support from USAID/KEA Office through Collaborative Conservation and Management of Natural Capital Programme in the EAC.


East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org  |  sgoffice@eachq.org