EAC Logo


Canadian High Commissioner pays courtesy call on Secretary General

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, 25th April, 2019: Her Excellency Ms. Pamela O’Donnell, the High Commissioner of the Canadian High Commission in the United Republic of Tanzania, today paid a courtesy call on the Secretary General of the East African Community, Amb. Liberat Mfumukeko, at the EAC Headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The Secretary General briefed the Canadian Envoy on the latest milestones recorded in all the four regional integration pillars and the two officials later discussed a wide range of issues geared towards deepening cooperation between Canada and the East African Community.

They also conferred on Canada’s support to regional integration initiatives; the Burundi peace process; and the Continental Free Trade Area (CFTA).

Amb. Liberat Mfumukeko noted the urgent need to upscale the EAC-Canada relations as well as Canada’s support to the regional integration agenda.

On her part, Her Excellence Pamela O’Donnell reiterated the importance of the EAC in furthering regional integration efforts and re-affirmed her country’s commitment to support the noble cause.

Present at the ceremony were the Deputy Secretary General in charge of Planning and Infrastructure, Eng. Stephen Mlote and other EAC Officials.


For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at] eachq.org

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of five Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. 

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001:2008 Certified

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org