EAC Logo


Egypt and Iran accredit Envoys to EAC

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 25th January, 2019: The Secretary General of the East African Community, Amb. Liberat Mfumukeko, received credential from the Ambassador of the Arab Republic of Egypt  to the United Republic of Tanzania H.E  Mohamed Gaber Abulwafa, who is also assigned as the Permanent  representative of Egypt to East African Community.

Welcoming the Egyptian Ambassador, the Secretary General briefed him on the current achievements in the pillars of the regional integration and development process. He  described Egypt as an important trading partner for the EAC and praised its outstanding role in promoting negotiations for the Tripartite Free Trade Area (FTA) between the EAC, COMESA and SADC.

Amb. Mfumukeko and the Egypt envoy discussed several issues including the status of the EAC-EU Economic Partnership Agreements (EPAs) and also explored areas of collaboration in trade and investment.

On his part, H.E Abulwafa said his country was eager to boost trade and technical cooperation with the EAC Partner States. He informed the Secretary General that Egypt has committed to improve areas of cooperation with the East African Community.

The EAC Secretary General also received the credentials from the Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Islamic Republic of Iran, H E Mousa Farhang who also serve as representative of the Islamic Republic of Iran to the East African Community.

The Iranian envoy expressed delight at the accreditation commenting that Iran has very good relations with the EAC member states.

“In spite of the good relations between the  Islamic Republic of Iran and the EAC Partner States, I believe a lot of the potential has not yet explored noting that untapped opportunities abound in trade and investment’’, remarked H .E Farhang

Amb Mfumukeko on his part, informed the Iranian Envoy that EAC is open to investment  in areas of  infrastructure, especially in roads, railways, ports and energy as well as  technical and financial support from the  Islamic Republic of Iran.

Also present at the accreditation ceremonies was EAC Deputy Secretary General  in charge of Political Federation, Mr. Charles Njoroge and  officials at the EAC Secretariat.


For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at] eachq.org

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of five Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. 

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001:2008 Certified

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org