EAC Logo


EAC Secretary General receives credentials from Japanese Ambassador

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 22th November, 2018: The Secretary General of the East African Community, Amb. Liberat Mfumukeko, received credentials from the Japanese Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary to the United Republic of Tanzania, H.E Ambassador Shinichi Goto, who has also been accredited to the EAC.

In the Ambassador’s accreditation letter dated 10th October, 2018, and addressed to the Secretary General, the Japanese Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mr. Tano Kono, appoints Amb. Shinichi Goto as the Japanese representative to the EAC.

During their discussion, the Secretary General briefed Amb. Goto on the current achievements on the pillars of the regional integration and development process. He said the Community had expanded tremendously within a short spell of time,a development which has necessitated the Community to review its institutional set-up.

Amb. Mfumukeko further informed the Japanese envoy on the status of the Tripartite agreement between EAC, COMESA and SADC. They also discussed potential areas for collaboration between Japan and the EAC on trade and investment.

In his remarks, Amb. Goto  hailed the Secretary General for the good work in deepening the regional integration agenda. He said achieving the Customs Union, Common Market and a Monetary Union within such a short time for the Community was commendable.

Also present at the accreditation ceremony were the EAC Deputy Secretary General in charge of Planning and Infrastructure, Eng. Steven Mlote.


In order to support promotion of the Jua Kali/Nguvu Kazi sector of the regional economy, the EAC Secretariat in collaboration with the Partner States and Confederation of Informal Sector Organization East Africa (CISO-EA) has organized the annual exhibition since 1999.  The exhibitions have proved to be strategic avenues for promoting the Small and Micro Enterprises sector’s products, transfer of technologies, and promotion of the regional integration process.


For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at] eachq.org

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of five Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. 

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001:2008 Certified

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org