EAC Logo


18th Meeting of the Sectoral Council on Transport, Communications and Meteorology underway in Bujumbura, Burundi

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 7th February, 2023: The 18th meeting of the Sectoral Council on Transport Communications and Meteorology (TCM) is currently underway at the Royal Palace Hotel in Bujumbura, Burundi.  

The five-day meeting from 6th -10th February, 2023 brings together stakeholders from the Government Ministries in the Partner States, agencies, regional organizations and the private sector to discuss challenges in the development of infrastructure and make recommendations on how to address them. 

The sectors and sub-sectors that are involved in the TCM matters are roads, railways, maritime transport, telecommunications, ICT, postal services, civil aviation, airports and meteorology. 

The meeting started with the Session of Senior Officials which runs from Monday 6th to 8 February 2023, followed by the Session of Permanent/Principal Secretaries on 9th February, 2023 and the Session of Ministers/Cabinet Secretaries will be held on 10th February, 2023. 

Among the item on agenda are; Projects and programmes being undertaken by the Lake Victoria Basin Commission (LVBC) and the Civil Aviation Safety and Security Agency (CASSOA) as well as the One Network Area for mobile communications in the region. 

The Sectoral Council meeting is expected give directions on the convening of the 5th EAC Heads of State Retreat on Infrastructure Development and Financing, the premier event that brings together political and policy decision makers, technocrats, development partners and the private sector to discuss ways of unlocking the estimated 50 billion dollars annual funding gap for the region’s infrastructure development.

For more information, please contact:

Simon Peter Owaka
Senior Public Relations Officer
Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 768 552087
Email: sowaka [at] eachq.org

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of seven Partner States, comprising the Republic of Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, the Republic of Kenya, the Republic of Rwanda, the Republic of South Sudan, the Republic of Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001: 2015 Certified

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org  |  sgoffice@eachq.org