EAC Logo


Regional ICT Programme Worth €8 Million Launched

The programme will enhance policy and regulatory environment for competitive markets and improve infrastructure connectivity and access to ICT.

Lusaka, Thursday, May 12, 2022: Five Regional Economic Communities (RECs) are set to benefit from a new eight million euros project: Enhancement of Governance and Enabling Environment in the ICT sector (EGEE-ICT), funded by the European Union. The project was launched on Thursday 12 May, 2022 in Lusaka, Zambia.

The four-year programme covers 29 African countries from the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) as the lead, the East African Community (EAC), the Intergovernmental Authority for Development (IGAD), the Indian Ocean Commission (IOC) and the Southern African Development Community (SADC). It will support the review and/or development of various regional policy and regulatory framework in a harmonized manner that will contribute to enhancing competition and improved access to cost effective and secure ICT services.

The implementation of the project began in late 2021 following the signing of a Grant contribution amounting to eight million Euros between the European Union and COMESA in December 2020. Its objective is to deepen regional integration and growth of the Information and Communication Technology (ICT) sector in the Eastern Africa-Southern Africa and Indian Ocean (EA-SA-IO) regions.

The programme will coordinate regional public and private sector ICT policy development, enhance policy and regulatory environment for competitive markets and gender sensitive ICT markets and improve infrastructure connectivity and access to ICT.

According to the EGEE-ICT project document, the penetration of mobile telephones in the EA-SA-IO region has increased because of both private and public sector investments in infrastructure adding that internet penetration is also rapidly growing. The socio-economic benefits of accessing and using ICTs, in particular the internet, are rising as essential information and services, both in the public and private sectors, continue to move online.

Despite these positive developments, many people in the region are still not connected to ICT services, especially the internet, and the cost of access is prohibitive in most cases.

“ICT accessibility and affordability is the key for utilizing e-services and for reaching all groups of society in remote areas and other disadvantaged groups in order to transform the landscape for development,” said Dr Kipyego Cheluget, COMESA Assistant Secretary General for Programmes.

Major challenges inhibiting the improved access to cost effective ICTs in the region include the existence of vertically integrated dominant operators providing both the infrastructure and services, limited resources or lack of expertise to implement harmonized policies, laws and institutions. Besides, uneven and fragmented implementation of policy and regulatory frameworks across the region impedes promotion of competitive markets and the development and adoption of regional policies and regulations vary among Member States.

To resolve these bottlenecks, the EGEE-ICT will leverage on available opportunities to enhance the capacities of public and private sector institutions and the civil society to develop, implement and monitor harmonized ICT policies and regulations. The programme will also develop model policy and regulatory frameworks that enhance cross-border interconnection, competition, trade facilitation, e-commerce as well as gender perspectives in regional ICT markets.

European Union Delegation to Zambia Team Leader for Infrastructure Mr Claudio Bacigalupi said the EGEE-ICT programme is fully aligned with the EU Global Gateway Strategy and it would contribute to the development of the ICT sector in Africa and deepen regional integration.

For more information, please contact:

Simon Peter Owaka
Senior Public Relations Officer
Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 768 552087
Email: sowaka [at] eachq.org


Muzinge Nampito
Corporate Communications
COMESA Secretariat
Email:   This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  /  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of six Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001: 2015 Certified       

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org