EAC Logo


EAC Monetary Affairs Committee addresses regional economic challenges and progress towards the EA Monetary Union

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 6th May, 2024: The 27th Ordinary Meeting of the East African Community (EAC) Monetary Affairs Committee (MAC) convened on 3rd May, 2024 in Juba, South Sudan.

The meeting brough together Governors and Senior Officials of the EAC Partner State Central Banks, along with representatives from the EAC Secretariat, against a backdrop of complex global economic dynamics. The meeting deliberated the global economic outlook, as well as the impact of persistent inflationary pressures, climate change ramifications and geopolitical tensions on the region.

Reflecting on the economic performance of the EAC region in 2023, the Committee acknowledged a range of growth rates ranging from 2.8 percent to 8.1 percent, largely attributed to advancements across key sectors and commitment to implementation of policy reforms that has promoted private and public investment in some Partner States.

Looking forward, the Committee foresees continued regional growth outpacing global and Sub-Saharan Africa benchmarks, supported by sustained public investment, enhanced export performance, and pro-private sector measures. However, the region grapples with challenges, including adverse global financial conditions, geopolitical turmoil, and climate change ramifications, resulting in amplification of challenges like high fuel and food import prices, market access costs, and currency and reserve pressures.

A focal point of deliberation centered on inflation trends, which, while having escalated in 2022 and 2023, have since eased following the implementation of appropriate monetary policies and the easing of global commodity prices.

Moreover, discussions delved into the strides made towards the establishment of the East African Monetary Union (EAMU), emphasizing commitments to harmonize monetary policies, financial regulations, and crisis management frameworks. The Governors pledged to continue working with the relevant authorities to advance the regional integration agenda.

Significant achievements were noted, including the adoption of price-based monetary policy frameworks, harmonization of macroeconomic and financial statistics, and the promotion of cross-border payments systems. However, the Committee reaffirmed its dedication to fulfilling remaining objectives outlined in the East African Monetary Union roadmap, with a renewed focus on convergence criteria review to meet the revised 2031 deadline.

In a gesture of inclusivity, the Committee extended a warm welcome to the Central Bank of Somalia as the newest member of the EAC Monetary Affairs Committee, underscoring the collective commitment to supporting Somalia's integration into the EAC.

The 27th MAC meeting underscores the EAC's resolute commitment to navigating economic challenges, fostering regional cooperation, and advancing towards a unified monetary future.

For more information, please contact:

Simon Peter Owaka
Senior Public Relations OfficerCorporate Communications and Public Affairs DepartmentEAC SecretariatArusha, TanzaniaTel: +255 768 552087Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of eight (8) Partner States, comprising the Republic of Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, the Republic of Kenya, the Republic of Rwanda, the Federal Republic of Somalia, the Republic of South Sudan, the Republic of Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. The Federal Republic of Somalia was admitted into the EAC bloc by the Summit of EAC Heads of State on 24th November, 2023 and became a full member on 4th March, 2024.

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org