EAC20Plus logo

Permanent Secretaries and EASTECO Discuss Strategic Plan and Priority Programmes

The East African Science and Technology Commission (EASTECO), Kigali, Rwanda, October 13th, 2017:

Permanent Secretaries of Ministries responsible for East African Community Affairs (MEACA), held a two-day meeting at EASTECO Headquarters to discuss the EASTECO Strategic Plan and Priority Programmes, starting on Wednesday 11th October 2017.

The delegation include Mrs. Edith N. Mwanje, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of EAC Uganda, Mr. Claude Nikobisanzwe, Permanent Secretary in Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Cooperation and East African Community, Rwanda, Amb. Ali Idi Siwa, Tanzanian High Commissioner to Rwanda, Mr. Nshunguyinka John, Director of Social Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Cooperation and East African Community, Rwanda, Mr. Musiime Andrew Director of EAC Affairs in Ministry of East African Community Affairs (MEACA) Uganda.

The meeting was also joined by Mr. Badru Ntege, the EASTECO Governing Board Chairman.

In her welcome remarks, Ms. Gertrude Ngabirano, the EASTECO Executive Secretary, informed the meeting on the status of development and implementation of the EASTECO 5-year Strategic Plan, 2017/18 - 2021/22, as well as the ongoing EASTECO regional activities in Science, Technology and Innovation for the FY 2017/18, including the development of a Regional Policy for Science, Technology and Innovation, the establishment of an EAC Journal on Science, Technology and Innovation and organizing the Second EAC Regional E-Health and Telemedicine Workshop, Ministerial Conference and International Trade Exhibition, 2018.

The Permanent Secretaries made recommendations to enable the smooth implementation of the EASTECO strategic plan including mechanisms for funding Regional Programmes in Science, Technology and Innovation. They underscored the need for a coordinated regional approach in harnessing gains in science and technology including putting in place an enabling environment at the regional level.

The permanent secretaries recognised that high levels of investment in research and innovation are essential for economic competitiveness in areas such as agricultural value addition, healthcare, energy technologies and ICT which have high potential to make immediate and tangible improvements to quality of life of the population in the EAC partner states.  The further underscored the commitment of the EAC Partner States to promote the development and use of science and technology in solving socio-economic development challenges.

Mrs. Edith N. Mwanje expressed her gratitude to the Government of Rwanda for hosting EASTECO and their commitment to provide land for the Commission to build its headquarters. She reiterated the EAC Partner States commitment to guide organs and institutions in their collaboration in harmonizing their activities. She further expressed the commitment of Partner States to make Science and Technology a key enabler of social economic development and achievement of regional integration agenda.

The delegation also visited Positive GBH which is assembling laptops and other electronics, K-Lab and FabLab which constitute an ICT Hub and Incubator in Rwanda.



For more information, please contact:

Richard Irakoze
Communication Assistant
The East African Science and Technology Commission (EASTECO),
2nd Floor Telecom House, Kacyiru,
Kigali, Rwanda
Mobile: +250 783047164
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.; C.C. This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


The East African Science and Technology Commission (EASTECO) was established as an institution of the EAC, with an overall objective of “promoting and coordinating the development, management and application of Science and Technology in Partner States” composed with the Republics of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, the United Republic of Tanzania and the Republic of Uganda.

It is a semi-autonomous institution of the EAC established by the 5th Extra-ordinary Summit of the EAC Heads of State held on 18th June 2007,in accordance with Chapter 16, Article 103 (a) of the Treaty on the Establishment of the East African Community, where the Partner States undertook to promote cooperation in the development of Science & Technology within the Community.

EASTECO Headquarters are in Kigali, Rwanda, 2nd Floor Telecom House, Kacyiru.


Tags: East African Science and Technology Commission (EASTECO)

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org