EAC Logo


19th Sectoral Council on Education, Science and Technology currently underway in Dar es Salaam

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 19th June, 2024:  The 19th Meeting of the Sectoral Council on Education, Science and Technology, Culture and Sports (SCESTCS) is currently underway in Dar es Salaam, United Republic of Tanzania.

The six-day meeting started with the Session of Senior Officials that started on Monday, 17th June and goes up to Wednesday 19th June, 2024. The Session of the Permanent/Principal/Under Secretaries or the Coordination Committee is set for Thursday, 20th June, 2024 and Friday 21st June, 2024 while the Ministerial session is scheduled for Saturday, 22nd  June, 2024

The  meeting is considering various matters under Social Sectors in East Africa including  some of the  EAC specialized Institutions, namely: Education and Training; Culture and Sports; the Inter-University Council of East Africa (IUCEA); East African Science and Technology Commission(EASTECO); and the East African Kiswahili Commission ( EAKC)

Under Culture and Sports, the meeting is considering the way forward on the convening of the 6th Edition of JAMAFEST and the 2nd Edition of the EAC Games.

Under EAKC, the main agenda includes progress made towards the development of the EAC Kiswahili Language Policy and preparations of the EAC celebrations for the 3rd World Kiswahili Language Day expected to be held in Mombasa, Kenya.

For more information, please contact:

Simon Peter Owaka
Senior Public Relations OfficerCorporate Communications and Public Affairs DepartmentEAC SecretariatArusha, TanzaniaTel: +255 768 552087Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of eight (8) Partner States, comprising the Republic of Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, the Republic of Kenya, the Republic of Rwanda, the Federal Republic of Somalia, the Republic of South Sudan, the Republic of Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. The Federal Republic of Somalia was admitted into the EAC bloc by the Summit of EAC Heads of State on 24th November, 2023 and became a full member on 4th March, 2024.

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org