EAC Logo

16th Sectoral Council on Education, Science and Technology, Culture and Sports ends in Dar es Salaam

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 6th June, 2021: The 16th Meeting of the Sectoral Council on Education, Science and Technology, Culture and Sports (SCESTCS) came to a close in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania on 4th June, 2021.

The Ministerial Session of the SCESTCS was chaired by Kenya's Cabinet Secretary for Education, Prof. George Magoha,

On Education and Training, the Sectoral Council directed that the EAC TVET Harmonization Strategy be finalized by end of June 2021; criteria for administration of EAC Essay Writing Competition be reviewed and that a Regional Forum on Education be held by November 2021 in Rwanda to, among other things, look into the impacts of the COVID 19-Pandemic on the education systems of EAC Partner States.  

On Sports and Culture, the 16th SCESTCS approved that the Republic of Burundi will host the 5th Edition of JAMAFEST and should commence preparations to hold the event within COVID 19 regulations. Rwanda was further urged to commence preparations for the 2nd Edition of EAC Games in adherence to COVID-19 pandemic protocols.  

Following the Summit declaration of Kiswahili and French as official languages of the Community, the Sectoral Council directed the Secretariat to develop roadmaps and mobilize resources to implement this directive. It further directed the East African Kiswahili Commission (EAKC) to fast-track the amendment of the Treaty and EAKC Protocols in view of the new developments. The EAKC was also directed to fast-track the translation of the EAC Treaty into Kiswahili and finalize the Kiswahili programs for the Partner States.

The Sectoral Council further directed the Inter University Council for East Africa (IUCEA) to develop a road map for implementation of the EAC Common Education Area; facilitate visa-free entry for students from EAC Partner States going to undertake studies within the Community and to enhance students and staff mobility within the Community. The IUCEA was further directed to conclude and implement the Common Fees Structure Model. 

The Ministers further directed the East African Science and Technology Commission (EASTECO) to conclude the Regional Policy for Intellectual Property, Regional Bioeconomy Strategy, Regional Policy for Science, Technology and Innovation and proposed amendments to EASTECO Protocol. 

Partner States that have not submitted their inputs for the completion of these processes were urged to do so to hasten the process. The EASTECO concept paper for the establishment of the East African Research and Technological Fund was approved. 

The SCESTCS also directed the Secretariat and the Partner States to implement the several pending decisions. They emphasized the critical role that education, science and technology, culture and sports play in fostering development, societal transformation and regional integration.

The Ministers observed that no region in the world has ever developed nor fully integrated without deliberately investing and putting emphasis on sectors such as education, science and technology, culture and sports.

The Chairperson, Prof. George Magoha, urged the Secretariat to convene regular meetings of SCESTCS to facilitate monitoring and implementation of decisions.

The Ministers appreciated the EAC Secretariat for convening the meeting amid the challenging COVID 19 situation and expressed their relentless support and commitment to the sector.

For more information, please contact:

Simon Peter Owaka
Senior Public Relations Officer
Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 768 552087
Email: sowaka [at] eachq.org

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of six Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001: 2015 Certified

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org