EAC20Plus logo

15th Meeting of the Sectoral Council on Education, Science and Technology, Culture and Sports ongoing in Arusha

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania 5th June, 2019: A five-day East African Community Sectoral Council Meeting on Education, Science and Technology, Culture and Sports is currently ongoing at the EAC Headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The 15th Meeting of the Sectoral Council on Education, Science and Technology, Culture and Sports started with the Session of Senior Officials on 3rd June, 2019 and ends Wednesday, 5th June, 2019. The Coordination Committee or the Session of Permanent/Principal/Under Secretaries will be held on Thursday, 6th June, 2019, and the Ministerial Session on Friday, 7th June, 2019.

Among the items on the agenda of the Meeting are: Consideration of Education and Training matters; Consideration of Culture and Sports matters; Consideration of Inter-University Council of East Africa (IUCEA) matters; Consideration of East African Kiswahili Commission (EAKC) matters, and; Consideration of East African Science and Technology Commission (EASTECO) matters.

Under the agenda item Consideration of Education and Training Matters, the Sectoral Council is looking at: Implementation of EAC Students Essay Writing Competition; Implementation of Mutual Recognition Agreements, and; Pending Activities in Harmonization of EAC Education Systems, Structures and Frameworks.

On the Consideration of EAKC matters, the items under focus include: Kiswahili and Development Interventions in the EAC; Development of Principles and Guidelines of Kiswahili Training Programmes and Manuals; Centres of advanced study and research in Kiswahili; Translation of EAC Treaty into Kiswahili; Development of an East Kiswahili Commission Bill, and; EAKC and Kiswahili Associations.


For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at] eachq.org

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of five Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. 

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001:2008 Certified

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org