EAC Logo


East African Community Regional Force (EACRF)

The East African Community Regional Force (EACRF) is a multinational force deployed in the Eastern Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) in November 2022 to help restore peace and stability in the eastern part of the country.

The Regional Force which is constituted as an East African Community Force derives its mandate from Chapter 23 of the Treaty for the Establishment of the EAC (Articles 124 and 125) and the EAC Protocol on Peace and Security is composed of troops from the Republics of Burundi, Kenya, South Sudan and Uganda. The Republic of Rwanda, DRC and the United Republic of Tanzania participate in the force Headquarters based in GOMA.

The deployment of the EACRF was authorized by the EAC Heads of State at their 22nd Ordinary Summit held in Arusha, Tanzania, in July 2022. The decision was made in response to the ongoing conflict in Eastern DRC, which has displaced millions of people and caused a humanitarian crisis.

The EACRF was deployed in territories of Masisi, Nyiragongo and Rutshuru in North Kivu, where it has been working in collaboration with the Congolese Armed Forces (FARDC) to support political process, protection of civilians and enforce peace agreements.

Mandate of EACRF

The East African Community Regional Force (EACRF) has the following mandate:

  1. Jointly plan and conduct Operations with the Armed Forces of the Democratic Republic of Congo (FARDC) in the Joint Operations Area (JOA), to defeat the armed groups elements in the Eastern DRC;

  2. Support FARDC in concretizing and maintenance of law and order;

  3. Support DRC in collaboration with humanitarian agencies to continue humanitarian relief to population affected by Armed Groups Elements activities including Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs); and

  4. Support in the Disarmament, Demobilization, Community Recovery and Stabilization Program (P-DDRCS).

Achievements of the Military Track

  1. Full deployment of EACRF troops in the Joint Operation Area;

  2. Joint Planning and conduct of operations with FARDC;

  3. Intelligence sharing and coordination with MONUSCO and FARDC;

  4. Protection of Civilians in the Joint Operation Area (JOA) and dominance patrols;

  5. Facilitation of the return of Humanitarian Agencies to offer humanitarian support to local population;

  6. Facilitation of verification missions by the Joint Bureau in EACRF JOA;

  7. Humanitarian Assistance such as maternal health, Casualty Evacuation and medical care;

  8. Recce to Rumangabo Pre-cantonment site in support to the P-DDRCS; and

  9. Partial opening of Goma-Rutshuru (RN2), Bunagana-Rutshuru (RN28) and Sake-Kitchanga-Mweso (RP1030) Main Supply Routes enhancing free movement of people, goods and services.


East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org