EAC Logo


EAC Election Observation Mission Preliminary Statement on Tanzania General Elections 2015

In response to the invitation by the National Electoral Commission of the United Republic of Tanzania and the Standing Decision of the East African Community Council of Ministers to observe elections in all EAC Partner States, the EAC deployed an Election Observation Mission (EOM) to the United Republic of Tanzania for the 25 October 2015 General Elections.

The EAC EOM was led by H.E. Arthur Moody Awori, former Vice President of the Republic of Kenya and comprised 55 members drawn from the East African Legislative Assembly, National Electoral Management Bodies, National Human Rights Commissions, Ministries responsible for EAC Affairs, and Civil Society Organisations from four EAC Partner States namely Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda and Uganda.

Kindly find the attached Preliminary Statement for more information.

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org  |  sgoffice@eachq.org