EAC20Plus logo

Hon Mathias Kasamba speaks to an attentive House earlier today

Assembly elects Members to the Commission then adjourns

East African Legislative Assembly, Arusha, Tanzania: December 20, 2017:

The Assembly has elected Members to the EALA Commission. The House approved by secret ballot the names of two Commissioners each, from the Republics of Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, South Sudan and the United Republic of Tanzania in line with the provisions of Section (3)(2) of the Administration of the Assembly Act, 2011 and Rule 83 (1), (2) and (3) of the Rules of Procedure of the EAC. The Motion to constitute the Assembly was moved by Hon Chris Opoka-Okumu. The following were elected and will sit in the EALA Commission for two and a half years.

Republic of Kenya

Hon Muhia Wanjiku – 35 votes.
Hon Dr Oburu Oginga – 33 votes.

Republic of Rwanda
Hon Dr Kalinda Xavier Kalinda – 35 votes.
Hon Gasinzigwa Oda – 35 votes.

Republic of South Sudan
Hon Dr Itto Leonardo Ann -34 votes.
Hon Gabriel Garang Aher Arol – 35 votes.

United Republic of Tanzania
Hon Nkuhi Fancy Haji – 35 votes.
Hon Yahya Mariam Ussi – 35 votes.

Republic of Uganda
Hon Nakawuki Susan - 35 votes.
Hon Mukasa Mbidde – 35 votes.

The nominees of the Republic of Burundi withdrew in writing to the Clerk. The Chair of the EALA Chapter from the United Republic of Tanzania had similarly written to the Clerk requesting to withdraw the names. However, in absence of the withdrawal by the nominees per se, the Speaker therefore ruled that the names be maintained in the list. The election which took place at the EALA Chambers was presided over by the Clerk to the Assembly, Mr Kenneth Madete. There were no spoilt votes.

The EALA Commission is a creation of the Administration of the Assembly Act 2011. The mandate of the Commission is to manage the business and the programmes of the Assembly, to nominate Members of Standing and other Committees and to recommend to the Council the appointment of the Clerk and other Officers of the Assembly. The Commission further causes to be prepared in each Financial Year, estimates of revenue expenditure for the Assembly for the next Financial Year and to perform other functions as may be necessary for the well-being of the Members and staff of the Assembly so as to ensure the effective and efficient functioning of the Assembly.

Prior to dispensing with the activity, the Assembly moved a motion under Rule 30(d) and the corresponding Rule 84(1) on suspension of a rule and in this particular case that on Rule 12 on quorum of the House. The motion was moved by Hon Susan Nakawuki and seconded by Hon Abdikadir Aden. Hon Aden said the motion was well intended as it would allow the House to carry out the important work. Others rising in support were Hon Kennedy Kalonzo, Hon Fatuma Ali and Hon Chris Opoka while Hon Dr Ngwaru Jumanne opposed the motion.

The House meanwhile adjourned sine die (without resumption date).

- ENDS -

For more information, please contact:

Bobi Odiko
Senior Public Relations Officer
East African Legislative Assembly
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255-27-2508240
Fax: +255-27-2503103
Cell: +255-787-870945, +254-733-718036
Email: BOdiko [at] eachq.org
Web: www.eala.org

About the East African Legislative Assembly:

The East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) is the Legislative Organ of the Community and has a cardinal function to further EAC objectives, through its Legislative, Representative and Oversight mandate. It was established under Article 9 of the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community.

Tags: EALA

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org