EAC Logo


45th Ordinary Meeting of the EAC Council of Minister currently underway in Arusha, Tanzania

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 27th  June, 2024: 45th Ordinary Meeting of the East African Community (EAC) Council of Ministers is currently underway via hybrid (physical and virtual) means in Arusha, Tanzania.

The seven-day meeting from 22nd – 28th June, 2024 started with the Session of Senior Officials that started on Saturday, 22nd June and ended on Tuesday, 25th June, 2024. The Session of the Coordination Committee that brings together Partner States’ Permanent /Principal/Under Secretaries) was scheduled from Wednesday, 26th – Thursday, 27th June, 2024 with the Ministerial session set for Friday, 28th June, 2024. 

Among the items on the Agenda of the Coordination Committee are the considerations of various reports including: the Report of the 3rd Strategic Retreat of Permanent/Principal/Under Secretaries; Report of the 1st Meeting of the Coordination Committee to consider Annual Report on the Audit and Risk Committee to the Council of Ministers for the FY ended 30th June, 2022; the Roadmap on the Integration of Somalia into the Community; and the Report of the Senior Officials.  

The Council of Ministers is the policy-making Organ of the Community. The Council consists of the Ministers responsible for EAC Affairs and/or Regional Cooperation of each Partner State and such other Ministers of the Partner State as each Partner State shall determine. 

Among its functions, the Council promotes, monitors and keeps under constant review the implementation of the programmes of the Community and ensures the proper functioning of the regional bloc.

For more information, please contact:

Simon Peter Owaka
Senior Public Relations OfficerCorporate Communications and Public Affairs DepartmentEAC SecretariatArusha, TanzaniaTel: +255 768 552087Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of eight (8) Partner States, comprising the Republic of Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, the Republic of Kenya, the Republic of Rwanda, the Federal Republic of Somalia, the Republic of South Sudan, the Republic of Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. The Federal Republic of Somalia was admitted into the EAC bloc by the Summit of EAC Heads of State on 24th November, 2023 and became a full member on 4th March, 2024.

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org