EAC Logo


23rd Extra-Ordinary Summit of the EAC Heads of State set to take place virtually on Friday 7th June, 2024

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 4th June, 2024: EAC Heads of State are set to convene virtually for the 23rd Extra-Ordinary Summit of the EAC Heads of State, on Friday, 7th June, 2024.

The Extra-Ordinary Summit, which will be chaired by H.E. Salva Kiir Mayardit, the President of the Republic of South Sudan, is expected to consider the following matters:

  1. Consideration of the proposed appointment of a new Secretary General; and
  2. Consideration of the proposed appointment of a Judge to the First Instance Division of the East African Court of Justice from the Republic of Kenya.

The Heads of State are also set to consider the report of the consultative meetings by the Chairperson of the Summit on Partner States' relations.  

For more information, please contact:

Simon Peter Owaka
Senior Public Relations OfficerCorporate Communications and Public Affairs DepartmentEAC SecretariatArusha, TanzaniaTel: +255 768 552087Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of eight (8) Partner States, comprising the Republic of Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, the Republic of Kenya, the Republic of Rwanda, the Federal Republic of Somalia, the Republic of South Sudan, the Republic of Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. The Federal Republic of Somalia was admitted into the EAC bloc by the Summit of EAC Heads of State on 24th November, 2023 and became a full member on 4th March, 2024.

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org