EAC Logo


Somalia to Deposit Her Instrument of Ratification on the Treaty of Accession to the EAC today

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 4th March, 2024: The Federal Republic of Somalia will this morning deposit her instrument of ratification of the Treaty of Accession with the EAC Secretary General this morning making the Horn of Africa country the bloc’s 8th Partner State.

A high-level delegation led by Somalia’s Minister of Commerce and Industry, Hon. Jibril Abdirashid Haji Abdi, is in Arusha, Tanzania to deposit the instrument with EAC Secretary General, Hon. (Dr.) Peter Mathuki, at the EAC Headquarters.

The Treaty of Accession was signed by Somalia’s President Sheikh Hassan Mohamud and the Chairperson of the Summit of EAC Heads of State, H.E. Salva Kiir Mayardit, who is also the President of the Republic of South Sudan in Entebbe, Uganda on 15th December, 2023. The signing ceremony was witnessed by Ugandan President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni. 

In line with the EAC Admission Procedure for new members, Dr. Mathuki is expected to pronounce the Federal Republic of Somalia as a new member of the Community.

The Secretary General will subsequently inform Somalia in writing that the new member has deposited the Instrument of Ratification of the Treaty of Accession and is a full member of the Community [Article 153(1) of the EAC Treaty].

The Secretary General will then deposit the Treaty of Accession with the African Union and the United Nations expressing the new members commitment to be bound by the Treaty [Article 153(2) of the Treaty].   

The other seven (7) Partner States are the the Republic of Burundi, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of Kenya, Republic of Rwanda, Republic of South Sudan, Republic of Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania.

Click Livestream link to today’s historic event: LIVESTREAM LINK

For more information, please contact:

Simon Peter Owaka
Senior Public Relations OfficerCorporate Communications and Public Affairs DepartmentEAC SecretariatArusha, TanzaniaTel: +255 768 552087Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of seven (7) Partner States, comprising the Republic of Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, the Republic of Kenya, the Republic of Rwanda, the Republic of South Sudan, the Republic of Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. The Federal Republic of Somalia is in the process of becoming a full member of the Community after its admission into the EAC bloc by the Summit of EAC Heads of State on 24th November, 2023.

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001: 2015 Certified


East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org