EAC Logo


EAC delegation visits ECOWAS Commission on a benchmarking mission

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania: 8th February, 2024:  From 5th to 6th February 2024, a high-level delegation of the East African Community (EAC), led by Hon. Andrea Aguer Ariik Malueth, the Deputy Secretary General in charge of the Infrastructure, Productive, Social and Political Sectors, paid a visit to the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) Commission Headquarters in Abuja, Nigeria on a benchmarking mission in order to enhance integration in East Africa.

The EAC Delegation was received by H.E. Dr. Omar Alieu Touray, the President of the ECOWAS Commission. In his address, Dr. Touray highlighted the importance of collaborations among the Regional Economic Communities (RECs), adding that “it is good we learn from each other.”

In his remarks, Hon. Ariik Malueth equally emphasised the importance of EAC learning from the experiences of ECOWAS in their journey to effectively promote trade and integration

“We believe that EAC and ECOWAS can learn from each other and jointly promote regional integration in Africa,” said the DSG who represented EAC Secretary General Hon. (Dr.) Peter Mathuki.

The EAC delegation also held discussions with the Office of the Vice President on institutional reforms implemented at the ECOWAS Commission in the last decade.

Further, sectoral discussions were held with the Commissioner for Internal Services, the Commissioner for Political Affairs, Peace and Security, the Commissioner for Infrastructure, Energy and Digitalisation, as well as the Commissioner for Economic Affairs and Agriculture.

Both sides agreed to further foster bilateral engagement to strengthen peer learning between RECs.

The mission was supported by GIZ as part of the cooperation between the German Government and the EAC on organisational development.

For more information, please contact:

Simon Peter Owaka
Senior Public Relations OfficerCorporate Communications and Public Affairs DepartmentEAC SecretariatArusha, TanzaniaTel: +255 768 552087Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of seven (7) Partner States, comprising the Republic of Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, the Republic of Kenya, the Republic of Rwanda, the Republic of South Sudan, the Republic of Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. The Federal Republic of Somalia is in the process of becoming a full member of the Community after its admission into the EAC bloc by the Summit of EAC Heads of State on 24th November, 2023.

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001: 2015 Certified

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org