EAC Logo


EAC Secretary General holds briefing meeting with the Chairperson of the Summit of the EAC Heads of State on the status of integration of the Community

State House, Juba, Republic of South Sudan, 15th January, 2024: The East African Community (EAC) Secretary General, Hon (Dr.) Peter Mutuku Mathuki, this morning held a briefing meeting with the Chairperson of the Summit of the EAC Heads of State and President of the Republic of South Sudan, H.E. Salva Kiir Mayardit at State House, Juba, South Sudan. Dr. Mathuki congratulated President Salva Kiir on assuming the chairmanship of the Community and assured him of his unwavering support in the discharge of his mandate.

The Secretary General briefed the Chair on a number of issues critical to the progress of the Community in the calendar year 2024 and interventions on strengthening EAC inter-state relations. The deliberations focused on setting targets on deliverables under the leadership of President Salva Kiir, anchored on the need to foster a predictable and stable security environment that can catalyse the regional integration agenda.

The Chairperson noted with concern the interstate political and security dynamics in the region that require urgent intervention.

The Chairperson identified a number of interventions that will be activated towards addressing inter-state relations. President Salva Kiir committed to assign special envoys to the various capitals to deliver his message, and where necessary engage the leaders to resolve the matters within the framework of the EAC.

President Salva Kiir reiterated the need for not only East Africans, but all Africans to embrace the spirit of brotherhood and where omnipresent conflict arise by utilizing the Regional, Continental and Global Peaceful Conflict Resolution Mechanisms available.

On the ongoing expansion of the bloc, Dr. Mathuki updated President Salva Kiir on the Secretariat's readiness to fast-track the integration of the Federal Republic of Somalia once the nation deposits the instruments of ratification with the Secretary General.

President Salva Kiir reiterated his commitment to strengthen the East African Community during his tenure as the chairperson.

For more information, please contact:

Simon Peter Owaka
Senior Public Relations OfficerCorporate Communications and Public Affairs DepartmentEAC SecretariatArusha, TanzaniaTel: +255 768 552087Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of seven (7) Partner States, comprising the Republic of Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, the Republic of Kenya, the Republic of Rwanda, the Republic of South Sudan, the Republic of Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. The Federal Republic of Somalia is in the process of becoming a full member of the Community after its admission into the EAC bloc by the Summit of EAC Heads of State on 24th November,2023.

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001: 2015 Certified

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org