EAC Logo


EACJ receives the Bureau of East African Community Speakers

East African Court of Justice, Arusha, Tanzania, 20th May 2023: The Judge President of the East African Court together with other Judges of the Appellate Division, received the Rt. Hon. Speakers of the National Parliaments of the EAC Partner States (The Bureau of the EAC Speakers) at the Court’s premises in Arusha, Tanzania.

The National Assemblies’ Speakers from the EAC Partner States, who were attending their 15th meeting in Arusha, paid a courtesy call on the Judge President of EACJ, Justice Nestor Kayobera, to learn about the EACJ.

DSC 3Justice Kayobera expressed his gratitude to the Speakers for finding time to visit the Court, which is the first of its kind in the last 22 years of the Court's existence.

Justice Kayobera told the Speakers that the Court has decided very many cases against the Governments, such as Cases on the Election of Members of the East African Legislative Assembly, adding that the Court

belongs to the people,

“Therefore, this is your Court and your visit is very important to enable you understand these cases,” said Justice Kayobera, even as he commended the EAC Partner States for implementing the decisions of the Court.

The Judge President also informed the Speakers that, the Court currently is composed of a total of 11 Judges, that is six (6) in the First Instance Division and five (5) in the Appellate Division, adding that the Republic of South Sudan and Democratic Republic of Congo cannot appoint Judges to the EACJ Appellate Division until the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community is amended to allow more Judges be appointed to that Division, as new countries join Community.

Justice Kayobera further said that, the Treaty allows a total of 10 Judges to be appointed to the First Instance Division of the Court and that DRC is in the process of appointing a Judge.

DSC 2On her part, the Chairperson of the Bureau of the EAC Speakers, who is also the Speaker of the Transitional National Legislative Assembly of South Sudan, the Rt. Hon. Jemma Nunu Kumba, hailed the EACJ for all the cases determined and that the Parliaments appreciate the work of the Court in ensuring justice in the EAC integration.

 "We have taken note that the Court belongs to us as the President of the Court has indicated and we pledge our support where need arises." said Rt. Hon. Jemma.

The EALA Speaker, Rt. Hon. Joseph Ntakirutimana, commended the EACJ President and the Judges for receiving the Speakers and called for cooperation among EAC Organs for the benefit of all East Africans.

The other Rt. Hon. Speakers present during the courtesy call led by the Chairperson were, Rt. Hon Gelase Ndabirabe, President of the National Assembly of Burundi, Rt. Hon. Emmanuel Sinzohagera, President of the Burundi Senate, Rt. Hon Mukabaramba Alvera, Vice President of the Rwanda Senate and Senator Hillary Kiprotich Sigei, representing the Speaker of the Kenya Senate.

For more information please contact: 

Christine Mutimura,
Deputy Registrar,
East African Court of Justice.
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: 255-27-2162149
Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. http://www.eacj.org 

About the EACJ

The East African Court of Justice (EACJ or ‘the Court’), is one of the Organs of the East African Community established under Article 9 of the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community. The Court was established in November 2001, its key mandate is to ensure the adherence to law in the interpretation and application of and compliance with the EAC Treaty.

Arusha is the temporary seat of the Court until the Summit determines its permanent seat. The Court’s sub-registries are located in the capitals of the following Partner States: Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda and United Republic of Tanzania. 

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org