EAC Logo


World Bank earmarks US$15 million for EAC to enhance Regional Digital Integration

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 17th December, 2022: The World Bank has earmarked about US$15 million to enhance and accelerate regional digital integration efforts across the East African Community (EAC).  

The Bank through its Single Digital Market (SDM) initiative aims at supporting the region to become a more deeply integrated and dynamic digital investment, innovation, and growth hub.  

The project will focus on connectivity market development and integration, which entails creating an enabling legal, regulatory, and ICT institutional environment to enhance digitalization in the region. 

The project scope was deliberated on in a meeting held at the World Bank offices in Washington, D.C, between the EAC Secretary General Dr. Peter Mathuki and the World Bank team led by Mr. Mohammed Essakali, Manager, Africa Regional Integration and Ms. Casey Torgusson, the Global Manager, Digital Development. 

Dr. Mathuki noted that EAC is looking at establishing regional digital innovation hubs across the Partner States to respond to digital challenges.  

“This support will further enhance the region’s competitiveness and skills development that are central to successful digital transformation,” he added. 

pr 17122022 02

Further, the project will look into data market development with the setting up of cybersecurity frameworks, infrastructure and capacity building.  

The digitalization project will further look into enhancing mechanisms to develop cross-border electronic trade and payments and e-commerce initiatives. 

The Secretary General further added that the EAC plans to implement Smart Gates at its One-Stop Border Posts, which will help to track regional trade and reduce the time taken at borders through migration processes.  

The project is aligned with the EAC strategic objective and commitment to move towards a single digital market in the Community.  

For more information, please contact:

Simon Peter Owaka
Senior Public Relations Officer
Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 768 552087
Email: sowaka [at] eachq.org

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of seven Partner States, comprising the Republic of Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, the Republic of Kenya, the Republic of Rwanda, the Republic of South Sudan, the Republic of Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001: 2015 Certified

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org  |  sgoffice@eachq.org