EAC Logo

EAC to commemorate 28 years of the Genocide Against the Tutsi

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, 5th April, 2022: The East African Community Secretariat in collaboration with the Tanzanian Local Authorities in Arusha, the Arusha and Moshi Rwandan Community, the Embassy of Rwanda in Tanzania, the International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals (IRMCT), The Pan African Human Rights Court, the Religious Denominations based here in Arusha, the Representatives of Students from High Schools and Universities of the Arusha region and EAC staff will commemorate the 28th anniversary of  the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda on  7th April, 2022 at the EAC Headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. 

Themed “Remember-Unite-Renew, this year’s commemoration is once again an occasion to pay tribute to the more than one million innocent lives lost through the heinous extermination of Tutsis in Rwanda 28 years ago. Under the above theme, this year’s commemoration focuses mainly on the legacy of strength, resilience, and unity that the new generation is called upon to sustain as well as safeguarding the strides Rwanda has been able to make over the past 28 years and carry forward the vision for Rwanda’s transformation.  

Since the 20th commemoration in April 2014, EAC has taken a commendable route to supporting genocide survivors and recognizing genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda as a crime against humanity, first by building a genocide monument in the EAC gardens which was inaugurated by Heads of State and further by setting apart the 7th of April every year on the EAC calendar as a special day to commemorate the 1994 genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda.  

The EAC Secretariat takes this opportunity to invite everyone to join the Government and people of Rwanda to commemorate the 28th anniversary of the Genocide against the Tutsi by standing against genocide denial and its ideology and recognizing the incredible bravery of those who rescued others during the genocide at great risk to themselves and their families.

For more information, please contact:

Simon Peter Owaka
Senior Public Relations Officer
Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 768 552087
Email: sowaka [at] eachq.org

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of six Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001: 2015 Certified

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org