EAC20Plus logo

Dr Vincent Biruta, takes his seat shortly after swearing in as ex-officio Member of EALA

EALA swears in Rwanda's Foreign Minister, Hon Dr Vincent Biruta as ex-Officio Member

East African Legislative Assembly, Arusha, Tanzania: June 29th, 2020: The Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Co-operation, Republic of Rwanda, Hon Vincent Biruta, this afternoon, virtually, took Oath of Allegiance as an Ex-Officio Member of the Assembly.

Hon Dr Biruta was sworn in to the House virtually before the Speaker and Members of EALA in line with the Rule 5 of the Rules and Procedures of the Assembly. The Rule 5(4) of the Rules of Procedure says in part that: “No Member can sit or participate in the proceedings of the House until the Oath or Affirmation of Allegiance to the Treaty is taken”.

Hon Biruta was ushered in virtually (introduced by name) to the House by EALA Members, Hon Dr Pierre Celestin Rwigema in accordance with Rule 9 (2) on Administration of Oath or affirmation of the Rules of Procedure for Virtual Meetings and Sittings of the House.

EALA Speaker, Rt Hon Ngoga Karoli Martin congratulated Hon Prof Biruta upon his swearing in – as he assumes his ex-officio role in the regional August House. The Speaker said Hon Dr Vincent Biruta, a senior member of cabinet previously served as Speaker of Rwandan Senate, saying he had vast experience and understood the workings of Parliament. “You are most welcome to EALA, Hon Dr Biruta”, Rt Hon Speaker said.

Last week, Rwanda’s State Minister in charge of EAC Affairs within the same Ministry, Hon Nshuti Manaseh, was also sworn in as an ex-officio Member of EALA.

Under the Treaty for the establishment of the EAC, the Assembly shall swear in the Ministers responsible for EAC Affairs from each Partner State and the Assistant Minister, Deputy Minister of Minister of State. The Assistant/Deputy Minister or State Minister shall only seat/attend the House proceedings provided the substantive Minister responsible for EAC is unable to participate.

Hon Dr Biruta who was appointed as Rwanda’s Minister for Foreign Affairs, by H.E. President Paul Kagame in November 2019, is a seasoned politician. He previously served as the Minister of Environment of the Republic of Rwanda from August 2017 to November 2019. Prior to that, Hon Dr. Biruta held several cabinet positions in the Government of Rwanda including the Natural Resources portfolio from 2014 to 2017, Education from 2011 to 2014, Public Works, Transport and Communication from 1999 to 2000, and the Health docket from 1997 to 1999. Besides his cabinet appointments, he was the President of the Senate in Rwanda’s bicameral Parliament from 2003 to 2011 and President of the National Transition Assembly from 2000 to 2003. Dr. Biruta is a qualified physician.

He has furthered his studies in Public Health and Nutrition at the Université Catholique de Louvain in Belgium as well as in Planning and Management of Health Services in Developing Countries at the Université Libre de Bruxelles.

In his maiden statement on the floor today, Hon Dr Biruta reiterated his commitment to move forward the agenda of EALA as well as the interests of the East African Community.

- ENDS -

For more information, please contact:

Bobi Odiko
Senior Public Relations Officer
East African Legislative Assembly
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255-27-2508240
Fax: +255-27-2503103
Cell: +255-787-870945, +254-733-718036
Email: BOdiko [at] eachq.org
Web: www.eala.org


The East African Legislative Assembly is the Legislative Organ of the East African Community. Its Membership consists of a total of 62, of whom 54 are elected Members (9 from each Partner State) and eight ex-officio members (the Ministers responsible for EAC Affairs from the Partner States, the Secretary General of the Community and the Counsel to the Community).

The East African Legislative Assembly has legislative functions as well as oversight of all East African Community matters.  The enactment of legislation of the Community is put in effect by means of Bills passed by the Assembly and assented to by the Heads of State, and every Bill that has been duly passed and assented to become an Act of the Community and takes precedent over similar legislations in the Partner States.  EALA has to date passed over 80 pieces of legislation.

Tags: EALA

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org