EAC20Plus logo

Burundi to host National Stakeholders Consultations for Drafting EAC Political Conferederation Constitution next week

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 10th January, 2020: EAC Constitutional Experts are set to hold National Stakeholders Consultations for drafting the EAC Political Confederation Constitution from 14th to 20th January 2020, in Burundi.

The objective of the Consultations, which will be held in Bujumbura, Gitega, Ngozi and Makamba, is to obtain stakeholders’ views on their interest and other key issues that will better inform the drafting of a model Political Confederation and subsequently a Confederal Constitution in line with the principle of a people-centred Community.

The national stakeholders consultations are also expected to enhance awareness on the ongoing Constitutional making process for transforming the EAC into a Political Confederation, as well as prepare the public in general to give their inputs into the draft Constitution once it will be drafted.

“National Stakeholders’ Consultations will ensure participation of EAC citizens in the integration process and particularly the Political Federation pillar,” said EAC Secretary General, Amb. Liberat Mfumukeko.

“The drafting of the EAC Political Confederation Constitution is being undertaken by a team of Constitutional Experts nominated by the Partner States. The 18-member team is chaired by Hon. Justice Dr. Benjamin Odoki, the Chief Justice Emeritus of Uganda,” said Amb. Mfumukeko, adding that it was anticipated that the Confederation Constitution-making process would be completed by 2022 with its adoption by the Summit.

Burundi President Pierre Nkurunziza is expected to launch the Burundi Stakeholders Consultations on 15th January, 2020 in Gitega.

The Team of Constitutional Experts held the first National Stakeholders Consultations for drafting the EAC Political Confederation Constitution in the Republic of Uganda in November 2018, which forum also served as the launch of the process.


The Political Federation is the fourth and ultimate pillar in the EAC integration process after the Customs Union, the Common Market and the East African Monetary Union. In May 2017, the Summit of EAC Heads of State agreed on the Political Confederation as a transitional model to the Political Federation.

In February 2018, the Summit through the Council of Ministers constituted a team of 18 Constitutional Experts and Legislative Draftspersons to draft a Constitution for the Political Confederation. The team was tasked with developing a Draft Constitution for consideration by the Summit.

- ENDS -

For more information, please contact:

Simon Peter Owaka
Senior Public Relations Officer
Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 768 552087
Email: sowaka [at] eachq.org

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of six Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001: 2008 Certified

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org