EAC Logo


EAC to hold Regional Workshop on Cross-Border Health Programming in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 28th July, 2022: The EAC Secretariat together with the International Organization for Migration (IOM) and the World Health Organization (WHO) have organized a three-day (3rd - 5th August, 2022) Regional Workshop for Cross-Border Health Programming in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. 

The workshop is part of efforts to deepen regional cooperation in the health sector to reduce healthcare disparities and enhance cross-border health cooperation in line with the EAC Health Policy. 

The main objective of the workshop is to identify and address the gaps in strengthening the healthcare among border communities and reinforce the health security/preparedness and response in accordance with International Health Regulation (IHR) 2005. 

The workshop will bring together participants drawn from the Ministries responsible for EAC Affairs, Health, including health system, surveillance national focal points, IHR focal points, Immigration departments and the IOM Regional Office, among other stakeholders. 

The three-day workshop is expected to, among other things: develop and validate a five-year regional roadmap as a strategic priority to enhance cross-border health cooperation; come up with concrete steps and timeline to operationalize the roadmap and the development of concerning regional cross-border health programme and enhanced understanding of the roles and responsibilities of all parties involved throughout the project cycle. 

Notes to Editors 

The workshop builds on the discussions from the “Regional Meeting to Strengthen Cross Border Collaboration in the East African Community,” co-convened by the EAC and the IOM on 12 – 13 March 2022 in Mwanza, United Republic of Tanzania under the aegis of the Regional Project “WASH and health promotion sensitization and awareness on COVID-19 and other communicable diseases in the EAC region,” which brought together participants drawn from the Ministries responsible for EAC Affairs, Health, Infrastructure, Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, and Water and Environment; Staff from EAC Secretariat; IOM; WHO; GIZ, CDC Africa; and  Water Aid. 

Simon Peter Owaka
Senior Public Relations Officer
Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 768 552087
Email: sowaka [at] eachq.org

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of six Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001: 2015 Certified

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org  |  sgoffice@eachq.org