EAC Logo


EACREEE holds 2nd Executive Meeting in Kampala, Uganda

East African Community Secretariat; Arusha, Tanzania; 15 August 2017:

The 2nd  Executive Board meeting of the East African Centre for Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency (EACREEE) was held in Kampala, Uganda on 11th August, 2017. 

The well-attended board meeting from Partner States except the Republic of South Sudan was the follow up of the  first meeting which was held on June 10, 2016.

Addressing the board members, the Chairman of the Executive Board and Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development, Uganda, Dr. Steven Isabalija, hailed  the continued  support of the United  Nations Industrial Development Organization  (UNIDO)  and the Austrian  Development  Agency (ADA)  to the East African Community in the Energy and more specifically in Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency.

He  acknowledged  the challenges faced by EACREEE in its early stages of operation and urged collective efforts  among stakeholders in addressing the same.

On his part, the EAC Deputy  Secretary  General  in  charge  of  the Productive  and  Social  Sectors, Hon Christophe Bazivamo, informed the board that the EAC integration was business oriented, adding that energy was key to promoting business in the region.   

"Low energy access rates, expensive electricity, poor  cooking  solutions have been hampering the region's development," said Hon Bazivamo.

He reminded the meeting that the original plan of EAC was to have EACREEE as an EAC institution, however due to financial constraints other  innovative  ways were devised and hence College of Engineering, Design, Art and  Technology (CEDAT) was selected to host EACREEE as  a Centre  of  Excellence. 

Hon. Bazivamo disclosed that efforts were  underway  for  the  EAC  through the  Inter -University Council of East Africa to ensure effective management  of the EAC Centers  of Excellence through the  harmonization  of  management guidelines.

The Principal of CEDAT, Prof Henry  Alinaitwe, thanked the EAC Council  of Ministers for selecting CEDAT to host  EACREE and commended  the support  of UNIDO and ADA towards the Centre.  Prof. Alinaitwe revealed that since its inauguration, CEDAT has been working with several stakeholders to advance the Centre's activities.

During  the deliberations, the meeting took note of the progress report and of the challenges experienced by College of Engineering, Art, Design and Technology (CEDAT) in the implementation process especially in regards to the registration of EACREEE as a legal entity handling programmes that are regional in nature.

The meeting agreed on the need for formulation of a Roadmap/Transitional document on how and when the Centre will graduate from being hosted in CEDAT to be a fully-fledged Centre of EAC.

Against the above observations and to take matters forward, the meeting arrived at the following resolutions:

  1. Urged Makerere University CEDAT in collaboration with EAC Secretariat to expedite implementation of the decision of the 33rd meeting of Council by registering a semi-autonomous EACREEE under CEDAT.
  2. Urged CEDAT to open a separate account under Makerere University CEDAT in the name of EACREEE by 30th September 2017;
  3. Requested the EAC Secretariat in collaboration with CEDAT to work on the transitional roadmap in line with decisions of the 33rd Meeting of the Council of Ministers.
  4. The Executive Board to continue managing EACREEE under the current set up and;
  5. The Sectoral Council to reconsider the governing structure of EACREEE.

The meeting also took note of the proposal presented by UNIDO on the tentative agenda for conducting a sustainable energy forum for EAC by EACREEE in February 2018. The meeting commended the initiative by UNIDO and requested the formation of a joint organizing committee. The Forum will be organized in one of the EAC Partner States that were requested to support the forum. The meeting requested Partner States to express interest in hosting this conference by 30th September, 2017.

 The Technical Committee and National Focal Institutions (NFI) for EACREEE as well as launching the Centre on 11th June, 2016. 

- ENDS -

Notes to Editor: 

The 33rd Meeting of the Council of Ministers held on 29th February 2016 designated the College of Engineering, Art, Design and Technology (CEDAT), Makerere University, Kampala,Uganda as a Centre of Excellence for renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency (EACREEE) and directed that CEDAT collaborates with other institutions dealing with Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency within the Partner States. Based on the approved Project Document, the 11th Sectoral Council on Energy directed the EAC Secretariat to implement the directive of the council by constituting the Executive Board.

For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at] eachq.org

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of five Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001: 2008 Certified

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org