EAC Logo


Ministerial Session of the 14th Meeting of the Sectoral Council on Energy called off in Arusha

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 7th June 2019: The Ministerial Session of the 14th Meeting of the Sectoral Council on Energy was today called off due to lack of quorum at the EAC Headquarters.

The Rules of Procedure for the Council of Ministers provide that quorum of the meeting of the Council is all Partner Statesโ€™ representation. The representation at the Ministerial Session of the Council requires a Minister or Ministers designated by that Partner State.

When the meeting convened at the Ministerial level to receive the Report of the Coordination Committee this morning, it was realized that there were no Ministers from the Republics of Rwanda and South Sudan to attend the Meeting hence the call off. The Secretariat is consulting with the Partner States on when to convene the Ministerial Session either by video conferencing or face to face meeting.

The objective of the 14th Meeting of the Sectoral Council on Energy review the progress made in the sector in implementing the decisions of the Council, receive updates on energy sector activities from Partner States and consider other issues of regional importance.

Among the items on the agenda of the Meeting were: Consideration of the status of implementation of the previous directives/decisions of the Sectoral Council; Consideration of Implementation of Regional Strategy on Scaling Up Access to Modern Energy Services; Consideration of implementation of East African Power Master Plan projects, and; Consideration of a report on enhancement of a sustainable regional energy market in Eastern Africa, Southern Africa, and Indian Ocean region project.

Other items on the agenda of the Sectoral Council included: Consideration of the Centre of Excellence for the East African Centre for Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency (EACREEE) report; Consideration of the Study on analysis of petroleum policies, legal and regulatory frameworks in the region report and; any other business.


For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at] eachq.org

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of five Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. 

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001:2008 Certified


East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org