EAC Logo


14th Meeting of the Sectoral Council on Energy underway in Arusha

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania 3rd June, 2019: A five-day East African Community Sectoral Council on Energy meeting is currently underway at the EAC Headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The 14th Sectoral Council meeting started today with the Session of Senior Officials which runs from 3rd to 5thJune, 2019 followed by the Coordination Committee (Session of Permanent/Principal/Under Secretaries) on 6thJune, 2019, and the Ministerial Session on 7thJune, 2019.

Among the items on the agenda of the Meeting are: Consideration of the status of implementation of the previous directives/decisions of the Sectoral Council; Consideration of Implementation of Regional Strategy on Scaling Up Access to Modern Energy Services; Consideration of implementation of East African Power Master Plan projects, and; Consideration of a report on enhancement of a sustainable regional energy market in Eastern Africa, Southern Africa, and Indian Ocean region project.

Other items on the agenda of the Sectoral Council include: Consideration of the Centre of Excellence for the East African Centre for Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency (EACREEE) report; Consideration of the Study on analysis of petroleum policies, legal and regulatory frameworks in the region report and; any other business.


For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at] eachq.org

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of five Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. 

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001:2008 Certified

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org  |  sgoffice@eachq.org