20th Anniversary Banner

The Minister for Foreign Affairs and East African Co-operation, United Republic of Tanzania, Prof Palamagamba Kabudi takes the oath of Allegiance administered by EALA Clerk Assistant, Victor Manzi.

EALA swears in Tanzania's Foreign Affairs & EAC Minister as Ex-Officio Member

…Hon Prof Kabudi pledges support for the integration process

East African Legislative Assembly, Arusha, Tanzania: May 13th, 2019: The Minister for Foreign Affairs and East African Co-operation, United Republic of Tanzania, Hon Prof Palamagamba John Aidan Mwaluko Kabudi this afternoon took Oath of Allegiance as an Ex-Officio Member of the Assembly.

Hon Prof Kabudi was sworn in by the Clerk to the Assembly at a brief ceremony witnessed by the Speaker and Members of EALA in line with the Rule 5 of the Rules and Procedures of the Assembly. The Rule 5(4) of the Rules of Procedure says in part that: “No Member can sit or participate in the proceedings of the House until the Oath or Affirmation of Allegiance to the Treaty is taken”.

Rule 5(5) specifically states that “when a Member first attends to take his or her seat other than at the first Sitting of a new House, he or she shall be brought to the table by two Members and presented by them to the Speaker who shall then administer the Oath or Affirmation of Allegiance”.

Hon Prof Kabudi was ushered in to the House by EALA Members, Hon Mohammed Habib Mnyaa, Hon Fancy Nkuhi, Hon Leontine Nzeyimana and Hon Kasamba Mathias.  EALA Speaker, Rt Hon Ngoga Karoli Martin congratulated Hon Prof Kabudi upon his swearing in – as he assumes his ex-officio role in the regional August House.

Hon Dr Kabudi was appointed to the Ministry by H.E. John Pombe Joseph Magufuli in March 2019, replacing Hon Dr Augustine Mahiga who moved to the docket of the Constitutional and Legal Affairs Ministry. Professor Kabudi is deputized at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and East African Co-operation by Hon Dr Damas Ndumbaro.

Prior to the appointment as Minister for Foreign Affairs and East African Co-operation, Hon. Prof. Kabudi was the Minister for Constitutional and Legal Affairs from March 2017 to March 3, 2019. Prior to joining cabinet, Hon Prof. Kabudi was a Professor of Law at the University of Dar es Salaam with a wide-ranging academic expertise and long experience in public service and consultancy.

At the University of Dar es Salaam, he served as Dean of the Faculty of Law after having served as Associate Dean and Head of Department of International Law. At different intervals during his academic career, Prof. Kabudi was seconded to the Government as National Coordinator in the Vice President’s Office for review of institutional framework for environmental management in Tanzania and the drafting of the Environmental Management Act and its regulations. Prof. Kabudi has been a consultant to the Government of Tanzania on review and drafting of laws in areas of natural resources and water resources financed by the World Bank and other donor agencies in Tanzania and East Africa. Prof. Kabudi is a renowned Public Law expert having also served as a member of the Constitutional Review Commission that was tasked to draft a new Constitution.

Hon Prof Kabudi holds a Bachelor of Laws Degree – First Class honors (LL.B. Hons) and Master of Laws (LL.M) from University of Dar es Salaam and a Doctorate Degree in Laws (Dr. Jur) from the Freie Universtaet Berlin (FU Berlin), Germany.

In his maiden statement on the floor today, Prof Kabudi assured the House of his commitment to ensure integration is realized.  “Coming together as the EAC is not a matter of choice, but it is necessitated by geographical proximity, culture and the region’s geopolitics. Mr Speaker, I commit to do my best to spearhead the EAC Integration”, Hon Prof Kabudi said.  Prof Hon Kabudi appreciated the work done by his predecessor, Dr Augustine Mahiga.

- ENDS -

For more information, please contact:

Bobi Odiko
Senior Public Relations Officer
East African Legislative Assembly
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255-27-2508240
Fax: +255-27-2503103
Cell: +255-787-870945, +254-733-718036
Email: BOdiko [at] eachq.org
Web: www.eala.org

About the East African Legislative Assembly:

The East African Legislative Assembly is the Legislative Organ of the East African Community. Its Membership consists of a total of 62, of whom 54 are elected Members (9 from each Partner State) and eight ex-officio members (the Ministers responsible for EAC Affairs from the Partner States, the Secretary General of the Community and the Counsel to the Community).

The East African Legislative Assembly has legislative functions as well as oversight of all East African Community matters.  The enactment of legislation of the Community is put in effect by means of Bills passed by the Assembly and assented to by the Heads of State, and every Bill that has been duly passed and assented to become an Act of the Community and takes precedent over similar legislations in the Partner States.  EALA has to date passed 79 pieces of legislation.


East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org