EAC Logo


Capacity building workshop on mainstreaming the Democratic Republic of Congo into the EAC Customs Union underway in Kampala, Uganda

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 20th March, 2024: The East African Community (EAC) capacity building workshop on mainstreaming the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) into the EAC Customs Union is currently underway in Kampala, Uganda.

The five-day workshop from 18th -22nd March, 2024 facilitated by the Trade Mark Africa under funding of the USAID- ERRA program is being attended by Senior Officials from the Ministry of Trade, Ministry EAC affairs, Ministry of Agriculture, Bureau of Standards, Immigration and Customs Administrations

The main objective of the capacity building workshop is to sensitize the DRC officials on EAC regional integration, Customs Union Protocol and the concept of One Stop Border Post (OSBP) legal framework and procedures.

The training of the Senior Officials was proceeded by a training of 32 DRC Borders officials at the upcoming Mahagi/Goli (OSBP) between DRC and Uganda.  

pr 21032024 03

Speaking during the opening session of the workshop, Mr. Evaristae Munyampundu, from the EAC Secretariat underscored the importance of the regional integration, Trade Facilitation and the role of OSBP in establishing cultural linkages among the Partner States as well as enhancing intra-EAC trade.

He urged the participants to familiarize themselves with the EAC instruments including; EAC Treaty, Customs Union Protocol; Customs Management Act; SQMT Act; NTBS Act; OSBP Act, Regulations and Procedure Manuals to name the few and implement them in order to allow traders and people to enjoy the benefits of integration.

pr 21032024 02

On 22nd March, 2024, participants of the workshop are expected to visit Mutukula/Mutukula OSBP on the Uganda-Tanzania border to see the operations of the OSBP.

For more information, please contact:

Simon Peter Owaka
Senior Public Relations OfficerCorporate Communications and Public Affairs DepartmentEAC SecretariatArusha, TanzaniaTel: +255 768 552087Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of eight (8) Partner States, comprising the Republic of Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, the Republic of Kenya, the Republic of Rwanda, the Federal Republic of Somalia, the Republic of South Sudan, the Republic of Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. The Federal Republic of Somalia was admitted into the EAC bloc by the Summit of EAC Heads of State on 24th November, 2023 and became a full member on 4th March, 2024.

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org  |  sgoffice@eachq.org