EAC Logo


8th African Union - Regional Economic Communities Sub-Committee Meeting underway in Arusha

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 20th February, 2019: The sub-committee  meeting on Customs Cooperation organized by  African Union Commission(AUC) together with Regional Economic Communities(RECs) is underway at the Gold Crest Hotel in Arusha, Tanzania.

The main objective of the sub-committee meeting is to exchange ideas on various Trade Facilitation  activities being, undertaken by respective  RECs, as well as to ensure the proper coordination of projects, programmes and activities between the Customs Departments  of the RECs and the Customs Cooperation Division of the Commission.

The three-day meeting will also  provide updates with regards to the adoption of the AU Wide Trade Facilitation Strategy by the relevant Policy Organs of the AU. Furthermore, meeting will identify areas of cooperation, the form of cooperation and where possible, consider undertaking joint activities.

Speaking during the official opening session Director of Trade at the EAC Secretariat, Alhaj Rashid Kibowa said the sub-committee meeting on Customs Cooperation is an opportunity for AUC and RECs to strengthening cooperation on matters regarding Customs.

He urged the participants to discuss in details matters of  cooperation in Customs and come up with the way forward so as to enable proper coordination among the  RECs to avoid duplication and mainly to put in good use the limited resources available.

Notes to Editor

The 8th AUC/RECs Sub Committee Meeting on Customs Cooperation meeting is organized following  recommendations of the 7th AUC-RECs sub -committee held in Casablanca, Morocco in April 2018 in order to promote Trade Facilitation on the Continent. 

During the 7th Meeting, the RECs presented  and shared respective areas of interventions. The 7th Meeting also considered the Draft African Union Trade Facilitation Strategy, which was subsequently presented for considering  by AUSCDGCs during their 10th Ordinary Session held in Moron,Comos in September 2018.


For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at] eachq.org

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of five Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. 

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001:2008 Certified

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org  |  sgoffice@eachq.org