EAC Logo


Burundi ready to host the 1st edition of the EAC Games

 106 VIPs, 291 Match officials, 310 Team officials, 1630 Players to participate

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 12th July 2018: The Republic of Burundi will host the 1st Edition of the East African Community Games (EACoG) from 16th to 30th August 2018 in the city of Bujumbura, and in the towns of Ngozi and Gitega, under the theme Fostering EAC Integration and Peace through Sports.

The Games will take the form of all East Africa Games and will include multiple sports disciplines including: Athletics, Football, Handball, Basketball, Netball, Volleyball, Tennis, Rugby, Judo, Karate, Boxing and Taekwondo to be competed among the 6 Partner States that form the East African Community.

EACoG is a Regional Sports initiative that emanates from the decision of the 20th EAC Council of Ministers, which directed the Secretariat to organize and hold Sports Tournaments on regular basis with partnership of private sector, civil society, voluntary organizations/ institutions/individuals and Development Partners.

This was in recognition of the important role sports play towards reinforcing the spirit of East African unity and development and galvanizing a passionate, visionary and broad participation among the East African people, reflecting the basic principle of a people-centered regional integration.

Commenting on the ongoing preparation for the Games, the EAC Secretary General Amb. Liberat Mfumukeko disclosed that EACoG aims at showcasing the diverse sporting talents and provides a platform for sports talent exchange, learning and celebration.

“This initiative is aimed at providing an opportunity for East Africans to showcase the diversity of sporting talent in the region with particular focus on amateur/upcoming sports men and women with a limited emphasis on the competition”. “We are also aiming at making the event attractive to the public to enable East Africans to move across borders to interact freely within the region”.

The Secretary General also disclosed that the Burundi Government through its Ministry in the Office of the President Responsible for EAC Affairs has already extended invitation to the Partner States to participate in the Games.

According to the EAC Principal Sports and Culture Officer, Mr. Bernard Bakaye Lubega, it is expected that EACoG will attract 106 VIPs, 291 Match officials, 310 Team Officials, and 1,630 players in various disciplines.

Notes to Editors

Article 119 (a) of the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community states that: “The Partner States shall promote close co-operation amongst themselves in culture and sports with respect to the promotion and enhancement of diverse Sports activities”.

The overall objective of the EAC games is to foster regional integration and solidarity among the People of East Africa.

Some of the exiting Regional Sport Initiatives Events include:

  1. CECAFA Cup. (GoTv CECAFA Challenge Cup): It has been held 37 times. It is an international football competition consisting of national teams of member nations of the Council for East and Central Africa Football Associations (CECAFA). They are Burundi, DjiboutiEritreaEthiopiaKenya, RwandaSomaliaSouth SudanSudanTanzaniaUgandaZanzibar;
  1. EAC Military Games and Culture Event: They have been held seven times on rotational basis in all the EAC Partner States – Under the Memorandum of Understanding on EAC Cooperation in Defense. The games involve the following disciplines; Basketball, Handball, Netball, Soccer and X-Country. The Games are sponsored by EAC Partner States;
  1. EAC Inter-Parliamentary Games: These have been held 5 times on rotational basis since the establishment of EALA. The games involve the following disciplines: Netball and Soccer. They are sponsored by the national Parliaments and the East African Legislative Assembly;
  1. East African Secondary Schools Games: This has been held 13 times on rotational basis since the EAC was re-established. It is organized by the Federation of East African Secondary Schools Sports Association (FEASSSA). The games are sponsored by the participating secondary schools and private sector;
  1. East African Inter -University Games: These have been held six time since the EAC was re-established. The tournament is sponsored by the participating Universities and the private sector;
  1. East Africa University Female Games: This has been held once so far. The games are organized by East Africa University Sports Federation with support from International University Spots Federation (FISU), through Federation of African University Sports (FASU). Games are aimed at promoting and celebrating women involvement in University Sports (especially those marginalized Sports). The Competition features the following disciplines: Handball, Football, Netball, Tennis and Chess;

  2. East african Netball Championship: Last Event was held in Dar es salaam, Tanzania in 2013. The Tournanent features only Netball;
  1. East Africa Rugby Cup (EARC): This is organized by the East African Rugby Football Union. The Tournanent is for Only Rugby;
  1. East African Rugby Super Cup: This is organized by the East African Rugby Football Union. The Tournanent is for Only Rugby;
  1. East African Cup: This is a ten year old tournament.It is usually held in Moshi;
  1. East Africa Handball Championship: This is organized annually by the East and Central Africa Handall Federation – for men. The games have been held succesfully for 28 years.
  1. East African Cricket Cup;
  1. East African Beach Volleyball Championships;
  1. East African Athletic; and
  1. East Africa Sports for People with Disability


For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at] eachq.org

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of five Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. 

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 2008:9001 Certified

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org  |  sgoffice@eachq.org