EAC20Plus logo

Assembly resumes sitting in Arusha

East African Legislative Assembly, Arusha, October 22, 2018: The East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) has resumed its Sitting in Arusha, Tanzania. The Second Meeting of the Second Session which commenced this morning (October 22, 2018) with meetings of respective Committees, continues until November 10, 2018.

Key items expected at the Sitting include the debate on the East African Community Statistics Bill, 2017 and that on the Report of the Accounts Committee on the EAC Audited Accounts for the Financial Year ended 30th June, 2017, both of which were deferred when the Assembly met two weeks ago in Arusha.

The EAC Statistics Bureau Bill, 2017, seeks to establish the Statistics Bureau as an Institution of the Community under Article 9 of the Treaty and Article 21 of the Protocol on Establishment of the EAC Monetary Union.   The Bill provides for the functions, powers, governance and its funding with a view to establishing the institution responsible for statistics in a bid to support the East African Monetary Union. The Bill is in line with Article 21 (c) of the Protocol on the Establishment of the EAC Monetary Union which provides for the Summit, on the recommendation of the EAC Council of Ministers to establish an institution responsible for statistics as one of the institutions to back the EAC Monetary Union.   The debate on the Bill was deferred on October 3rd, 2018, to allow for further consultation. The Motion to postpone the debate on the crucial Bill was moved by Minister for EAC, Burundi, Hon Isabelle Ndahayo on behalf of the Council of Ministers and supported by legislators.

The Hon Minister (then) informed the House that, the EAC Statistics Bureau Bill, 2017, which was a Council Bill needed time for more consultation before debate can ensue.  

The House likewise received the report on the EAC Audited Accounts for the Financial Year ending 30th June, 2017. Debate is therefore expected to ensue. Also, for consideration is the EAC Annual Report 2015/2016.

This week, rigorous Committee work shall take place with all the Standing Committees of the House meeting to review reports, analyze pending issues as they prepare for the actual plenary sitting next week. The Assembly has 6 Standing Committees. These are:

  1. The Committee on Accounts
  2. The Committee on Legal, Rules and Privileges
  3. The Committee on Communication, Trade and Investment
  4. The Committee on Agriculture, Tourism and Natural Resources
  5. The Committee on Regional Affairs and Conflict Resolution
  6. The Committee on General Purpose.

The Assembly which holds six Plenary Sessions in every Financial Year, has a principle of rotation.


The East African Legislative Assembly is the Legislative Organ of the East African Community. Its Membership consists of a total of 62, of whom 54 are elected Members (9 from each Partner State) and eight ex-officio members (the Ministers responsible for EAC Affairs from the Partner States, the Secretary General of the Community and the Counsel to the Community).

The East African Legislative Assembly has legislative functions as well as oversight of all East African Community matters.  The enactment of legislation of the Community is put in effect by means of Bills passed by the Assembly and assented to by the Heads of State, and every Bill that has been duly passed and assented to become an Act of the Community and takes precedent over similar legislations in the Partner States.  EALA has to date passed 79 pieces of legislation.

- ENDS -

For more information, please contact:

Bobi Odiko
Senior Public Relations Officer
East African Legislative Assembly
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255-27-2508240
Fax: +255-27-2503103
Cell: +255-787-870945, +254-733-718036
Email: BOdiko [at] eachq.org
Web: www.eala.org

Tags: EALA

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org