EAC Logo

EALA defers debate on Statistics Bill

East African Legislative Assembly, Arusha, Tanzania: 4th October, 2018: Debate on the much anticipated EAC Statistics Bureau Bill, 2017, was deferred yesterday to allow for further consultation as the House rose. The Motion to postpone the debate on the crucial Bill was moved by Minister for EAC, Burundi, Hon Isabelle Ndahayo on behalf of the Council of Ministers and supported by legislators. 

The Hon Minister informed the House that, the EAC Statistics Bureau Bill, 2017, which was a Council Bill needed time for more consultation before debate can ensue.   Particularly, the United Republic of Tanzania had vide a letter to the Clerk of EALA on October 1st, 2018, requested for reinstatement of the earlier provision of clause 7(2) of the said bill, in effect, rejecting the amendment proposed by the EALA Committee on Communication, Trade and Investment (CTI) submitted to the Council of Ministers on September 24th, 2018.

Those who rose in support of the adjournment of the debate were Hon Fatuma Ibrahim, Hon Rose Akol, Hon Mary Mugyenyi, Hon Abdikadir Aden, Hon Fatuma Ndangiza, Hon Dr OburuOginga, Hon Noor Aden, Hon Dr Woda Jeremiah and Hon George Odongo. Others wereHon Dr OburuOginga, Hon Kennedy Mukulia, Hon Mathias Kasamba and Hon Dennis Namara, Hon Paul Musamalihowever opposed the Motion for Adjournment of debate on the Bill.

The debate on adjournment was preceded by presentation of the Report of the Committee on Communication, Trade and Investment (CTI) on the EAC Statistics Bureau Bill by the Chair of the Committee, Hon Gai Deng.

The EAC Statistics Bureau Bill, 2017,seeks to establish the Statistics Bureau as an Institution of the Community under Article 9 of the Treaty and Article 21 of the Protocol on Establishment of the EAC Monetary Union.   The Bill provides for the functions, powers, governance and its funding with a view to establishing an institution responsible for statistics in a bid to support the East African Monetary Union.

Meanwhile, the House further asked a number of questions on pertinent matters of integration to the Council of Ministers.

- ENDS -

For more information, please contact:

Bobi Odiko
Senior Public Relations Officer
East African Legislative Assembly
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255-27-2508240
Fax: +255-27-2503103
Cell: +255-787-870945, +254-733-718036
Email: BOdiko [at] eachq.org
Web: www.eala.org

About the East African Legislative Assembly:
The East African Legislative Assembly is the Legislative Organ of the East African Community. Its Membership consists of a total of 62, of whom 54 are elected Members (9 from each Partner State) and eight ex-officio members (the Ministers responsible for EAC Affairs from the Partner States, the Secretary General of the Community and the Counsel to the Community).The East African Legislative Assembly has legislative functions as well as oversight of all East African Community matters.  The enactment of legislation of the Community is put in effect by means of Bills passed by the Assembly and assented to by the Heads of State, and every Bill that has been duly passed and assented to become an Act of the Community and takes precedent over similar legislations in the Partner States.  EALA has to date passed 79 pieces of legislation.

Tags: EALA

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org