EAC Logo


28th Meeting of the Sectoral Council of Ministers Responsible for EAC Affairs called off in Bujumbura, Burundi

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 14th July 2018: The Ministerial Session of the 28th Meeting of the Sectoral Council of Ministers Responsible for EAC Affairs and Planning (SCMEACP) has been called off due to lack of quorum at the Royal Palace Hotel in Bujumbura, Burundi. 

The Rules of Procedure for the Council of Ministers provide that quorum of the meeting of the Council is all Partner States’ representation. The representation at the Ministerial Session of the Council requires a Minister or Ministers designated by that Partner State.

When the meeting convened at the Ministerial level yesterday morning, it was realized that there were no Ministers from some Partner States to attend the Meeting hence the call off. The Secretariat is consulting with the Partner States on when to convene the Ministerial Session.

The meeting was scheduled to consider several items pertaining to deepening and widening the regional integration agenda, which included among others, status of implementation of the EAC Common Market; restructuring of the Deputy Secretaries General positions at the EAC Headquarters as directed by the 19th Summit of the EAC Heads of State; the EAC Calendar of Activities for the period July – December 2018; and Status of the Contribution to the EAC Budget for the FY 2017/18.


For more information, please contact:

Mr Owora Richard Othieno
Head, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 784 835021
Email: OOthieno [at] eachq.org

About the East African Community Secretariat:

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of five Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. 

The EAC Secretariat is ISO 9001:2008 Certified

East African Community
EAC Close
Afrika Mashariki Road
P.O. Box 1096
United Republic of Tanzania

Tel: +255 (0)27 216 2100
Fax: +255 (0)27 216 2190
Email: eac@eachq.org